• Home
  • /
  • Athletics
  • /
  • Ireland Squad Named For European Athletics Championships

Ireland Squad Named For European Athletics Championships

Ireland Squad Named For European Athletics Championships
By PJ Browne
Share this article

The Ireland squad has been named for the European Athletics Championships which takes place in Berlin between August 6th - 12th.

A 41-strong group has been confirmed. It features 20 men and 21 women. There are also three relay teams travelling.

English-born sprinter Leon Reid has also been provisionally named in the team. The 24-year-old, whose birth mother is from Belfast, is currently awaiting confirmation of his transfer from Great Britain.

An IAAF freeze on athlete transfers was lifted on Friday. Reid - who first submitted his transfer request more than 18 months ago - believes he meets new criteria set down for transfers. His paperwork has been submitted and he is hopeful of competing for Ireland.

Over the weekend, Reid - competing for Wexford club Menapians AC - won the 100m and 200m double at the National Championships. His 200m win came following an enthralling battle with Carlow man Marcus Lawler.


The team also features medal hopes in Thomas Barr in the 400m hurdles and Ciara Mageean who won 1500m bronze at the championships two years ago in Amsterdam.


Marcus Lawler (SLOT AC) 200m
Chris O'Donnell (North Sligo AC) 400m
Zak Curran (DSD AC) 800m
Mark English (UCD AC) 800m
Stephen Scullion (North Belfast AC) 10,000m
Ben Reynolds (North Down AC) 110mH
Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC) 400mH
Adam McMullen (Crusaders AC) Long Jump
Cian McManamon (Westport AC) 20km Walk
Alex Wright (Leevale AC) 20km Walk
Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley AC) 50km Walk
Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers AC) Marathon
Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC) Marathon
Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) Marathon
Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders AC) Marathon
Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s AC Andy Hobdell) Marathon


4x400m relay team: Chris O'Donnell (North Sligo AC), Brandon Arrey (Raheny Shamrock AC), Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC), Craig Newell (Ballymena & Antrim AC), Andrew Mellon (Crusaders AC), Dara Kervick (DSD AC)


Phil Healy (Bandon AC) 100m & 200m
Gina Akpe Moses (Blackrock AC) 100m
Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD AC) 800m
Claire Mooney (UCD AC) 800m
Ciara Mageean (UCD AC) 1500m
Emma Mitchell (Queens University AC) 10,000m
Kerry O'Flaherty (Newcastle & District AC) 3000m SC
Michelle Finn (Leevale AC) 3000m SC
Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers AC) Marathon
Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers AC) Marathon
Laura Graham (Mourne Runners AC) Marathon
Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC) Marathon

4x100m relay team: Phil Healy (Bandon AC), Gina Akpe Moses (Blackrock AC), Ciara Neville (Emerald AC), Joan Healy (Bandon AC), Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank AC), Molly Scott (SLOT AC)


4x400m relay team: Davicia Patterson (Beechmount Harriers AC), Claire Mooney (UCD AC), Sophie Becker (St. Joseph's AC), Sinead Denny (DSD AC), Ciara Deely (KCH AC), Catherine McManus (DCH AC)

Picture credit: Sportsfile

See Also: Ireland's Fastest Woman Ever Reaping Benefits Of Move To Waterford

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com