Tipperary's Orla O'Dwyer Makes History At AFLW Awards

Tipperary's Orla O'Dwyer Makes History At AFLW Awards
By PJ Browne Updated

Orla O'Dwyer has become the first Irish player to be named on the AFL Women's All-Australian team.

The Tipperary dual star was one of three Brisbane Lions players named on the 21-strong team.

O'Dwyer, who is in her third season playing in the AFLW, was as revelation for the Lions this season averaging 14.4 disposals, 325.2 metres gained and 4.2 tackles in addition to kicking six goals.

Cora Staunton, who plays for the Greater Western Sydney Giants, was in the 40-player longlist for the award while Bríd Stack was nominated in the Most Courageous Player category.

O'Dwyer is the first Irish player to be named to an All-Australian team since Jim Stynes in 1993. Last year, she became the second Irish player - after Clare’s Ailish Considine - to win an AFLW Grand Final.


This season, Brisbane were knocked out at the preliminary final stage by Melbourne.

2022 AFLW All-Australian team

Defenders: Ruby Schleicher, Libby Birch, Natalie Grider, Sarah Allan, Emma Kearney (C)

Midfielders: Orla O'Dwyer, Emily Bates, Anne Hatchard, Lauren Pearce, Ebony Marinoff, Ash Riddell


Forwards: Hayley Miller, Katie Brennan, Daisy Pearce, Ashleigh Woodland, Tayla Harris

Interchange: Jasmine Garner, Jaimee Lambert, Monique Conti, Kirsty Lamb, Kerryn Harrington

See Also: Katie McCabe Bringing Arsenal Standards To Ireland Squad

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com