• Home
  • /
  • Boxing
  • /
  • Irish Fighter Left In Tears After Controversial Defeat At World Championships

Irish Fighter Left In Tears After Controversial Defeat At World Championships

Irish Fighter Left In Tears After Controversial Defeat At World Championships
By PJ Browne Updated

Ireland's Amy Broadhurst controversially lost her AIBA World Championship light welterweight quarter-final against India's Simranjit Kaur in New Dehli on Tuesday.

In an eventful final round, the Indian fighter found herself on the deck. However, the referee ruled that it was due to a slip rather than a knockdown.

20 seconds later, Broadhurst appeared to land a big left but was given an official warning by the referee for hitting with the inside of her glove. It was the third time in the fight that the referee had highlighted it to Broadhurst.

Up until that point, Broadhurst seemed to have had the better of the fight. The first should have been her's. Though, Simranjit undoubtedly improved in the second.

The Dundalk fighter's apparent superiority was not reflected on the scorecard as she lost a split decision. Incredibly, the Algerian judge scored the fight 30-26 to Simranjit with the others reading it 27-29, 28-28, 29-27 and 29-27.

According to the commentators, Broadhurst was left in tears by the decision.

Even Indian site, Sportstar, said that Broadhurst would feel aggrieved.

Advertisement

Advertisement

For yet another Irish amateur boxer, it is a result they will find it hard to swallow.

See Also: Danish Stewards Confiscate Anti-John Delaney Banners At Nations League Game


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com

Advertisement