A highly controversial last wicket by India bowler Deepti Sharma saw Charlie Dean a victim of a ‘Mankad’ in the final women's one-day international at Lords.
England needed were chasing 170 and needed just 17 runs off 39 balls to secure victory and avoid a series whitewash.
However, in highly unusual and controversial circumstances, Sharma ran out Dean by using the ‘Mankad’. This move was named after Australia’s Bill Brown in 1947, is seen as unsporting by fans of the game.
— The Cricketer (@TheCricketerMag) September 24, 2022
However, due to the fact that Dean had began to run when Sharma came into play, she was within her rights to run-out.
What Is The Rule?
The official laws state:
If the non-striker is out of his/her ground at any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler would normally have expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be Run out.
In these circumstances, the non-striker will be Run out if he/she is out of his/her ground when his/her wicket is put down by the bowler throwing the ball at the stumps.”
Opinion is split among pundits on whether it was the right thing to do, with Dean left in tears after her dismissal.
Speaking on Sky Sports after the game, former England cricketer Lydia Greenway does not believe it was the right thing to do.
🗣️ "They're allowed to do that...but I would have liked to see a warning"
Lydia Greenway and Dominic Cook discuss THAT final wicket...🤔⬇️ pic.twitter.com/vHDw02Uxrx
— Sky Sports Cricket (@SkyCricket) September 24, 2022
“It just doesn’t feel like the right way to win a game.
The first thing to say is, they’re allowed to do that. They’re well within their rights to get a wicket that way.
The way in which it’s managed I would disagree with. If I was captain of that team, I would say let’s give them a warning, and then make sure that Charlie Dean is aware of what she’s doing.
I don’t think she was trying to gain an unfair advantage.”
Commenters like Piers Morgan did not appreciate it either, and said the Indian team should be "ashamed of themselves".
Absolutely pathetic way to 'win' a cricket match.
The whole India team should be ashamed of themselves. https://t.co/TrGcU8CwqW
— Piers Morgan (@piersmorgan) September 24, 2022
England legend Ben Stokes called it a 'terrible way to finish a game'
A run out? Terrible way to finish the game
— Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8) September 24, 2022
A quick scour of English cricket Twitter reflects an incandescent mood towards the incident.
— Eth Lowe (@lowe_eth) September 24, 2022
In fairness to Dean, she did shake hands with the India team in the aftermath of the match.
Incredible from Charlie Dean. One second she was emotional after seeing the 3rd umpire’s call; the next, going towards the IND team & shaking hands. Within a sec she cut off all the possibilities of stupid ‘Spirit of Cricket’ debates. What a maturity from a 21 yr old!! #ENGvsIND pic.twitter.com/BVyGLjkzF0
— Pradeep Krishna M (@PradeepKrish_m) September 24, 2022