• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Five Irish Included In Welsh Paper's Team Of The Six Nations

Five Irish Included In Welsh Paper's Team Of The Six Nations

Five Irish Included In Welsh Paper's Team Of The Six Nations
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

Western Mail (or Wales Online, if you prefer) have seen what the Telegraph did last week with their Pre-Six Nations Six Nations team of the tournament and decided that it was a wonderful idea.

In case you can't remember, the Telegraph attempted to place sole favouritism on Ireland with seven selections in the XV. Wales Online have similar opinions on Irish fortunes, but unsurprisingly Wales get the largest share of the picks.

There are nine players that make both teams which include Paul O'Connell, Jonny Sexton, Conor Murray, Tommy Bowe, Peter O'Mahony, Wesley Fofana, Sam Warburton, Alun Wyn Jones and Sergio Parisse.

Robbie Henshaw and Rob Kearney lose their places from the Telegraph selection to Mike Brown and Jamie Roberts, while the other changes involve George North for Teddy Thomas, and an entirely different front row.


Interestingly, the English publication went for a Welsh hooker in Richard Hibbard, while the Welsh publication went for the English hooker in Dylan Hartley.

The two eyebrow raising selections are the props. Samson Lee is picked as the tighthead, with Gethin Jenkins as the loosehead. Lee is entering only his second Six Nations, and first as the Welsh starter. The 22-year-old Scarlets prop is mostly unheard of outside of Wales, which leads to the question marks about his inclusion, but make no mistakes, Lee is a monster. He owned the more powerful South African scrum in November and is a future Test Lion. He will make a mockery of a few scrums in this Six Nations and could be one of Wales' best weapons.


Gethin Jenkins is on the other end of the spectrum in terms of his career, and isn't the force he once was. Joe Marler and Cian Healy are certainly better options than him, but it isn't a bad side from the Wales Online team.

The WalesOnline Team Of The Six Nations

15. Mike Brown (England)
14. Tommy Bowe (Ireland)
13. Wesley Fofana (France)
12. Jamie Roberts (Wales)
11. George North (Wales)
10. Jonny Sexton (Ireland)
9. Conor Murray (Ireland)
1. Gethin Jenkins (Wales)
2. Dylan Hartley (England)
3. Samson Lee (Wales)
4. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
5. Paul O'Connell (Ireland)
6. Peter O'Mahony (Ireland)
7. Sam Warburton (Wales)
8. Sergio Parisse (Italy)


Read the full article here

Photo Credit Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com