No Place For Roy Keane In BBC's Premier League All-Time XI

No Place For Roy Keane In BBC's Premier League All-Time XI

A panel of Ian Wright, Alan Shearer and Danny Murphy last night named their Premier League all-time XI on the BBC's Premier League show.

After having selected Peter Schmeichel in goal and a defence of Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry and Ashley Cole last week, on Thursday night they named the midfield and attack.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Ryan Giggs were the two selected for the wide positions, leaving just two spots open for central midfield.

The panel selected from a predetermined list of nominees which included:

Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira, N'Golo Kante, Xabi Alonso, Yaya Toure, Bryan Robson.

After plenty of joking and jawing about how Gerrard and Lampard couldn't play together, they selected Gerrard and Lampard.

Overall, the team includes seven English players.

BBC Premier League all-time XI

bbc premier league all-time xi

Ian Wright was dead set from the start that Gerrard should be in the team, as was Danny Murphy - 'there isn't another midfielder on the list that has attributes that he hasn't got'.

Even more preposterous than Keane not being included in the consensus XI was him not being selected by any of the panel. Murphy and Wright both selected Gerrard and Lampard while Shearer went for a Vieira and Lampard combo.

Mentions of Keane - a seven-time Premier League winner and leader of the most dominant team in the league's history - in the debate didn't go much further beyond Shearer asking, 'Have we mentioned Roy Keane yet?' and Lineker enquiring if Vieira was 'nastier than Keane'.

Other Irish players nominated for the team were Shay Given and Denis Irwin.

Watch: Gylfi Sigurdsson Scores 1st Everton Goal With Unbelievable 50-Yard Line Volley

PJ Browne
Article written by

You may also like