Football

Watch: Divided Reaction To Contentious/Stonewall Cork City Penalty Call

Watch: Divided Reaction To Contentious/Stonewall Cork City Penalty Call

Dundalk will have to wait a short while long before learning whether it is to be Bohemians or Cork City who await them in this year's FAI Cup final.

In an exhilarating game at Dalymount Park this evening, the cup holders Cork left it late to grab an equaliser; Kieran Sadlier converting from the penalty spot to cancel out Dinny Corcoran's opener for Bohs.

However, with only a few minutes remaining for John Caulfield's men to salvage something from a progressively disappointing season, Darragh Leahy was adjudged to have fouled Cork substitute Conor McCarthy in the box.

Taking a few seconds to confirm his decision, the referee appeared to award the penalty after some consultation with the official behind the goal.

At first glance, it certainly appeared that Leahy had crashed through McCarthy and committed a heedless foul.

Check again, and it becomes clear that Leahy did indeed connect with the ball before colliding with McCarthy.

A decision that ultimately determined a replay in Turner's Cross will be necessary to separate these two sides on Monday week, you can decide for yourself whether the referee was correct to make the call.

Advertisement

Needless to say, the reaction to the referee's decision was varied, to say the least.

Advertisement

Despite the long wait after the awarding of the penalty, Sadlier made no mistake from the spot.

See Also: Rangers Fans Leave Linesman Bleeding As Missile Is Thrown From Crowd

Arthur James O'Dea

You may also like