Athletic Bilbao kicked off their La Liga campaign by losing 1-0 away to Malaga but if there was any justice in the world of football, they would be on their way back to the Basque Country with a draw.
After Malaga had two players sent off late on, Gorka Iraizoz, the Bilbao keeper went up for a free that he met with a bullet header that we should all be wildly celebrating. But no, instead the referee decided that it needed to be disallowed.
Apparently, Mateu Lahoz and his officials called for an offside somewhere in there, which is about as bad as making up a non-existent foul because Iraizoz is the only player to touch the ball and he’s very definitely not offside. Travesty of biblical proportions.
The only remote explanation is that Aduriz is possibly offside at the back post but he’s not even remotely interfering with play so our anger stands. How could you take a goal away from a keeper?