Here Is Who Robbie Keane And Martin O'Neill Voted For In The Ballon D'Or

Here Is Who Robbie Keane And Martin O'Neill Voted For In The Ballon D'Or

The FIFA Ballon D'Or is voted for by the manager and captain of the FIFA national associations, along with one member of that country's media.

Following Messi's fifth victory, FIFA released the breakdown of results.

Messi won with 41.33% of the vote, with Ronaldo second (27.76%) and Neymar third (7.86%).

Unsurprisingly, Martin O'Neill placed Leo Messi in first place. More surprisingly, O'Neill ranked Ireland's Euro 2016 opponent Eden Hazard in second position, with Cristiano Ronaldo in third place.

Robbie Keane gave Ronaldo his number one vote, with Messi in second and Neymar third.

The Irish media representative is Paul Kelly, France Football magazine’s Ireland correspondent, and he voted Messi in first place, with Luis Suarez in second and Ronaldo third. It makes a change from Kelly's joint 2012 decision with Jimmy Magee to omit Messi entirely.

Elsewhere, Northern Ireland manager Michael O'Neill voted for Luis Suarez, Robert Lewandowski and Messi in that order. Steven Davis' voting mirrored the overall result with Messi first, Ronaldo second and Neymar third.


England manager Roy Hodgson surprised everyone by voting Javier Mascherano in first place last year; this year he gave his top vote to Ronaldo, with Messi second and Hazard third.

Both Ashley Williams and Chris Coleman diplomatically gave their top vote to Gareth Bale.

Cristiano Ronaldo voted for his Real Madrid teammates, Benzema first, James Rodriguez second and Gareth Bale third.

Messi gave his top vote to Luis Suarez, with Neymar second and Iniesta third.

The surprises included Yaya Toure receiving the top vote from  Senegal coach Aliou Cisse, Ivory Coach manager Adam Khalil, Grenada coach Michael Bascombe and Cameroon manager Stephane Mbia.

Toni Kross somehow was ranked third by the coaches of Kyrgyzstan and Liberia, and Pakistan coach Basheer Al Shamlan Mohammad Shamlan Mubakarak voted for Arjen Robben, who was injured for 176 days in 2015.

Get the full breakdown here.

Gavin Cooney
Article written by
Changed the spelling of his name upon pressure from Michael Owen.

You may also like