• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • The Republic Of Ireland Euro 2016 Squad Has Been Named

The Republic Of Ireland Euro 2016 Squad Has Been Named

By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

It's the moment we've all been waiting for. What lucky 23 men will represent the Republic of Ireland at Euro 2016.

Harry Arter was cruelly ruled out of the tournament before the Belarus friendly, after a scan revealed that his thigh injury was bad enough to rule him out.

Robbie Keane's injury wasn't serious enough for the leading cap holder and captain to miss out on the tournament.

That took out a big selection dilemma for O'Neill, and he's gone with David Meyler and Quinn to join Hendrick, McCarthy, Whelan, and Hoolahan.


A poor game and season from Aiden McGeady wasn't enough for McGoldrick, O'Dowda, and O'Kane to get the call up.

The goalkeeper conundrum was the last to figure out. With respect to Gary Rogers, it was between David Forde and Keiren Westwood to join Shay Given and Darren Randolph in the final squad, and O'Neill has plucked for Westwood who has been fantastic for Sheffield Wednesday

Full list of players who missed out: David Forde, Eunan O'Kane, Harry Arter, Darron Gibson, Callum O'Dowda, David McGoldrick.


Republic of Ireland Euro 2016 Squad:



What do you make of the squad?

See Also: The Player Ratings After Ireland's Poor Loss To Belarus Tonight

Photo by David Maher/Sportsfile

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com