• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Mick McCarthy Confirms 27-Man Squad For Denmark And Gibraltar Games

Mick McCarthy Confirms 27-Man Squad For Denmark And Gibraltar Games

Mick McCarthy Confirms 27-Man Squad For Denmark And Gibraltar Games
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Mick McCarthy has named a 27-man squad for the Euro 2020 qualifiers against Denmark and Gibraltar next month.

The most eye-catching name among the group is 18-year-old Luca Connell. The Liverpool-born midfielder featured 12 times for Bolton this season after making his debut in the FA Cup back in January. Connell is an Ireland U19 international.

With Bolton in administration, and relegated to League One, Connell has garnered plenty of interest from other teams, including from Rangers, Norwich, Southampton and Preston.

"Luca deserves this opportunity," said McCarthy.

"With midfielders Conor Hourihane, Glenn Whelan and Josh Cullen all on playoff duty with their clubs in the coming weeks, this is the perfect chance to get Luca into the squad."


A group of 23 players will travel to a training camp in Portugal ahead of the qualifiers. Richard Keogh, Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane, and Josh Cullen, all of whom are still involved in Football League playoffs with their club, will join the squad in Dublin ahead of the game with Denmark.

Norway-based goalkeeper Sean McDermott also joined the squad due to Kieran O'Hara being injured. Harry Arter, Jack Byrne, James Collins and Aiden O’Brien have also missed out.

Republic of Ireland squad to play Denmark and Gibraltar

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), John Egan (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Luca Connell (Bolton Wanderers), Josh Cullen (Charlton Athletic*), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)


Forwards: David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Callum Robinson (Preston North End)

Ireland play away to Denmark on June 7th and then at home to Gibraltar on June 10th.


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com