• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Ireland Squad Named For Euro Qualifier Trip To Ukraine

Ireland Squad Named For Euro Qualifier Trip To Ukraine

Ireland Squad Named For Euro Qualifier Trip To Ukraine
By Balls Team Updated

Qualifying for the 2022 UEFA Women's European Championships continues for the Republic of Ireland as they prepare to travel to play Ukraine on October 23rd.

Manager Vera Pauw has confirmed a 30-player squad for what is their penultimate game in Group I - with a home game against Germany to come on December 1st - and knowing that victory would secure a playoff spot.

Group leaders Germany have already made sure of a place at EURO 2022, but second place - which is currently occupied by Ireland - remains up for grabs. A best runners-up spot, that guarantees automatic qualification, is also in contention.

As per UEFA rules, the nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the two-legged playoffs that will be played in April 2021.

Ireland overcame Ukraine 3-2 in Tallaght last year, Pauw's first game in charge, and will be hoping to complete the double over the team who currently trail them by seven points.

Republic of Ireland women's squad to play Ukraine

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)


Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion - on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge)


Photo by Marcel Kusch/Sportsfile

See Also: Callum Robinson Reveals Offensive Messages He Received After First Ireland Call-Up

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com