Doherty And Arter Make Cut As O'Neill Finalises Irish Squad

Doherty And Arter Make Cut As O'Neill Finalises Irish Squad

Martin O'Neill has named a 26 man squad for the upcoming Nations League double header against Denmark and Wales. Wolves' Matt Doherty is included as he looks to convert fine Premier League form into a first competitive appearance for Ireland, while Harry Arter is also present as his dispute with Roy Keane is relegated to the past.

Sean Maguire features among the forwards having returned from injury over the weekend, but his club mate Graham Burke has been left out having been included in the provisional squad for these games. The other five players to drop out are Greg Cunningham, Alan Judge, Daryl Horgan, Richie Towell, and Ronan Curtis.

Stephen Ward, Seamus Coleman and Jon Walters are all out through injury.

Here is the squad in full.


Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)



Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers)


Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)


Shane Long (Southampton), Callum Robinson, Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa)

*Indicates player is on loan



Gavin Cooney
Article written by
Changed the spelling of his name upon pressure from Michael Owen.

You may also like