• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Luke Shaw Claims The Major Prizes At Man United Awards Cermony

Luke Shaw Claims The Major Prizes At Man United Awards Cermony

Luke Shaw Claims The Major Prizes At Man United Awards Cermony
By Aonghus Ó Maicín
Share this article

Despite earning a surprising spot in the PFA Team of the Year, Paul Pogba was beaten to both the Man United Players' Player of the Year and Matt Busby Player of the Year accolades last night, with defender Luke Shaw picking up both awards instead.

The English man has made 40 appearances for Man United in all competitions this season, and wins his first individual award since joining the club from Southampton.

Walk with us from Darkness Into Light on May 11. Register here to help raise funds for Pieta House and the vital support services they provide in the battle against suicide and self-harm.

After the votes of all club players were tallied, Shaw had won the award by a single vote and, interestingly, Pogba didn't come in second either. It means the French midfielder has yet to win the award since arriving at Old Trafford for a record-breaking transfer fee back in 2016.

Instead, fellow defender Victor Lindelof was Shaw's nearest challenger for both awards.


After receiving the award, Shaw addressed the audience and said:

It’s obviously nice for me, but I’d rather win no [individual] trophies and have a better season as a team. We need to move on and focus now on next season and what’s to come.

Ole [Gunnar Solskjær] has done an amazing job and of course we’ve had ups and downs but he’s obviously looking forward to getting us back in pre-season and getting his proper work done for next season. We’re all looking forward to starting fresh next season with him as the manager

The 23-year-old follows in the footsteps of David De Gea who has won the Sir Matt Busby accolade in four of the last five seasons - Ander Herrera won the award in 2017.

The Spanish goalkeeper also won the Players' Player of the Year award in three of the last five seasons - Chris Smalling and Antonio Valencia won the award in 2016 and 2017 respectively.


After scoring his first goal for the club during the club's opening game of the season against Leicester City, Shaw has gone on to win Club Player of the Month on three occasions.

Moreover, he signed a deal with the club last October which sees him tied to the club until 2023 - which, in a time of relative turbulence at the club, is sure to be a source of solace for many fans.

Meanwhile, Andreas Pereira scooped the Goal of the Season award, while Tahith Chong was voted under-23s Player of the Year and Mason Greenwood was named Youth Team Player of the Year.


SEE ALSO: Watch: Former England Cricketer Roasts United On MUTV

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com