Injury Problems For Ireland As Martin O'Neill Finalises Squad For Playoffs

Injury Problems For Ireland As Martin O'Neill Finalises Squad For Playoffs

Ireland have gathered at Abbottstown to prepare for their upcoming date with destiny...and Denmark.

Ahead of the first leg of the play-off on Saturday, Martin O'Neill has trimmed the provisional squad named last week. Sean Maguire, James McCarthy, and Richard Keogh are all out: the latter with a groin injury, while Keogh and McCarthy have suffered hamstring injuries.

Jon Walters has not been added to the squad, despite O'Neill hinting so at the initial squad announcement.

Walters' absence leaves Ireland slightly light up front: Shane Long is without a goal since February, Daryl Murphy has scored just three international goals, while Scott Hogan and Aiden O'Brien have yet to be capped.

David Meyler is included, although will be suspended for the first leg.


Here's the squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Hull City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O'Brien (Millwall)

See Also: 4 Irish Players Made a Big Impact This Weekend Before Heading To Denmark

Gavin Cooney
Article written by
Changed the spelling of his name upon pressure from Michael Owen.

You may also like