French media are furious after footage has showed why Lionel Messi's second goal should have been disallowed.
In a end to end encounter with the game level at 2-2, both teams were chasing a vital third goal to put them ahead in the second period of extra time.
With both team having chances, it was Argentina who retook the lead through Lionel Messi.
After playing a one-two with Lautaro Martinez, the Inter Milan striker had his shot saved by Hugo Lloris, before Messi's effort crept over the line to give Argentina a 3-2 lead.
— RTÉ Soccer (@RTEsoccer) December 18, 2022
It was short lived however, with Kylian Mbappe scoring from the spot minutes later to complete his hat-trick, bringing the game to penalties where Argentina prevailed.
Should Messi's Goal Have Stood?
Now that the French media have had time to look back on the game, eagle eyed viewers have noticed why Messi's goal should have been disallowed.
Replays have shown that there was Argentina replacements had ran on to the pitch before Messi's shot had crossed the line.
L'equipe have cited the Law three, Paragraph nine as to why it shouldn't' have counted.
'If, after a goal is scored, the referee becomes aware before play resumes that an additional person was on the pitch at the time the goal was scored, the referee must disallow the goal.
if the extra person was: a player, substitute, substituted player, sent off player or official of the team who scored the goal; play must be restarted with a direct free kick from the place where the extra person was."
Emotions were running high at this point of the game, with several players sprinting towards Messi once the goal was awarded.
At the time of the goal the main focus was if the ball had crossed the line or not. When it was clear it had, celebrations in the stadium were in full swing.