• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Man City And Liverpool Dominate Players' Player Of The Year Shortlist

Man City And Liverpool Dominate Players' Player Of The Year Shortlist

Man City And Liverpool Dominate Players' Player Of The Year Shortlist
By Aonghus Ó Maicín
Share this article

The Professional Footballers' Association has released their shortlist for the Players' Player of the Year this afternoon, with title contenders Manchester City and Liverpool, and Chelsea all represented on the six-man list.

Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva represent the title favourites, Man City, on the shortlist while Virgil Van Dijk and Sadio Mane represent high-flying Liverpool.

Sterling and Aguero have combined at the head of Pep Guardiola's attack for 36 goals this year, whilst the Portuguese Silva has been one of the league leaders most consistent performers.

Van Dijk has become the rock at the heart of Jurgen Klopp's defence in this, his first full season at Anfield, whilst the Senegalese forward has taken over the mantel from last year's winner Mo Salah.

The sole representative on the shortlist outside the league's top-two is Chelsea's Eden Hazard, who just happens to be the only previous winner of the accolade to make the cut.


Both Silva and Sterling are also nominated for the Young Player of the Year award, alongside Liverpool's Trent Alexander-Arnold, Bournemouth's David Brooks, Manchester United's Marcus Rashford and West Ham's Declan Rice.

The shortlists for the two awards in the women's game have also been announced, with the Cityzens having a strong representation there also.


Youngster Keira Walsh is a candidate for both Young Player of the Year and Player of the Year, while teammates Nikita Parris and Steph Houghton will vie with her for the senior honour, whilst Georgia Stanway is also up for the Young Player award.

Also straddling both lists are Chelsea's Erin Cuthbert and Arsenal's Vivianne Miedma.

Completing the senior shortlist is Chelsea's South Korean midfielder Ji So-yun. West Hamp player Alisha Lehmann is up for the youth prize, alongside Bristol City shot-stopper Sophie Baggaley, the only goalie to feature on any of the four lists published this afternoon.


The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony next Sunday, April 28.

SEE ALSO: Watch: Trailer Released For Documentary On Joey Barton's Debut Season In Management

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com