• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • The Ireland Team To Take On Argentina Has Been Named

The Ireland Team To Take On Argentina Has Been Named

Gary Reilly
By Gary Reilly
Share this article

Time to forget about France and time to forget about the injuries and the suspension. It's World Cup quarter final time and the excitement factor has just been upped significantly.

The big news is that Johnny Sexton has made it. The Ireland camp were waiting to see how the out-half came through training today to make a decision and it appears he's done enough to convince Joe Schmidt of his fitness as he slots in at 10.

Sexton may be headline news but it's in the forwards where the Ireland boss has had the most thinking to do. Many pundits were calling for Iain Henderson's running power from 6 with Devin Toner and Donnacha Ryan at 4 and 5. However, Schmidt has opted against that with Jordi Murphy brought in to replace Peter O'Mahony and Henderson taking his place alongside Toner as a direct replacement for Paul O'Connell.

As expected, Keith Earls makes it back into the side at 13, which leaves the wings open for Dave Kearney and Tommy Bowe.

The other big news is that, contrary to many suggestions, Cian Healy keeps his place ahead of Jack McGrath.


Ireland starting XV to face Argentina:

15. Rob Kearney
14. Tommy Bowe
13. Keith Earls
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Dave Kearney
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray


1. Cian Healy
2. Rory Best
3. Mike Ross
4. Devin Toner
5. Iain Henderson
6. Jordi Murphy
7. Chris Henry
8. Jamie Heaslip


Strauss, McGrath, White, Ryan, Ruddock, Reddan, Madigan, Fitzgerald.


So that's the team that's been named and the only thing left to say is come on Ireland.


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com