• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Troy Parrott Included As Stephen Kenny Announces Ireland U21 Squad

Troy Parrott Included As Stephen Kenny Announces Ireland U21 Squad

Troy Parrott Included As Stephen Kenny Announces Ireland U21 Squad
By Gary Connaughton
Share this article

Republic of Ireland U21 boss Stephen Kenny has named a 23-man squad ahead of the upcoming game against Luxembourg, with 17-year old Spurs sensation Troy Parrott amongst the names included. Eight League of Ireland players also makes the cut.

Ireland will face Luxembourg at Tallaght Stadium on March 24th, in what will be the first game of the Euro 2021 qualifying campaign. Parrott, who only turned 17 earlier this year, is seen as probably the brightest prospect in Irish football at the moment.

The Bohemians duo of Darragh Leahy and Dan Mandroiu, Liam Scales and Neil Farrugia of UCD, Waterford pair Zach Elbouzedi and Aaron Drinan, Shamrock Rovers' Trevor Clarke and St. Patrick's Athletic midfielder Jamie Lennon are the League of Ireland representatives.

Other eye catching names include Caoimhin Kelleher and Conor Masterson of Liverpool, Lee O'Connor of Manchester United, and Manchester City's Gavin Bazunu.


The European Championships will be held in Hungary and Slovakia in the summer of 2021, with 16 teams qualifying for the finals. This will be the only qualifying campaign at this level for Stephen Kenny, who will replace Mick McCarthy after Euro 2020.

Republic of Ireland U21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City)

Defenders: Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Dara O'Shea (Exeter City, on loan from West Bromwich Albion), Barry Cotter (Ipswich Town), Corey Ndaba (Ipswich Town), Conor Masterson (Liverpool), Lee O'Connor (Manchester United), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Liam Scales (UCD AFC)


Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Jake Doyle Hayes (Cambridge United, on loan from Aston Villa), Connor Ronan (FC DAC 1904, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrick's Athletic), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians).

Attackers: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Neil Farrugia (UCD AFC), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Michael O'Connor (Linfield), Simon Power (FC Dordrecht, on loan from Norwich City), Aaron Drinan (Waterford, on loan from Ipswich Town).

SEE ALSO: James McClean To Take Legal Action Against UUP Councillor

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com