Two Former Irish Internationals Named In EFL Team Of The Decade

Two Former Irish Internationals Named In EFL Team Of The Decade

The English Football League asked for fans to vote on their Team of the Decade and after over 60,000 votes, they have come up with an eleven that includes former Irish internationals Ian Harte and Wes Hoolahan.

The selection was unveiled and Monday and saw both Harte and Hoolahan recognised for their efforts over the past ten years.

In the final five years of his career, Harte made over 100 appearances for Reading and Bournemouth. In May 2015, four days after the team earned their first-ever promotion to the Premier League, he announced his retirement from football.

As for Hoolahan, the Dubliner spent the bulk of this decade with Norwich City where he became a club legend. He was also at West Brom for a season and made six appearances before leaving for Newcastle Jets.


Elsewhere, Leicester City goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel was selected with team-mate Wes Morgan.  George Friend and Harry Maguire join Harte in the back four.

Anthony Knockaert, Peter Whittingham and Matt Ritchie make up the midfield with Hoolahan. Jordan Rhodes and Billy Sharp are named as the two strikers.

SEE ALSO:'s Top 30 Irish Sports Moments Of 2019 (#30-21)


Maurice Brosnan

You may also like