• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • UEFA's Official Team Of The Euros Has One Glaring Omission

UEFA's Official Team Of The Euros Has One Glaring Omission

Conor O'Leary
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

UEFA, together with their expert panel of 13 judges today released their official team of the tournament. With Renato Sanches being awarded the young player of the tournament following last night's game; Antoine Griezmann claimed the award for player of the Euros.

The team features two players who are in their third team of the Euros - Ronaldo (2004 & 2012), and Pepe (2008 & 2012). There are four Portuguese players, three German, and two apiece for France and Wales.

The team (4-2-3-1): Rui Patrício (Portugal); Joshua Kimmich (Germany), Jérôme Boateng (Germany), Pepe (Portugal), Raphaël Guerreiro (Portugal); Toni Kroos (Germany), Joe Allen (Wales); Antoine Griezmann (France), Aaron Ramsey (Wales), Dmitri Payet (France); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal).


The big glaring omission is the lack of Gareth Bale - who was definitely Wales' best player on the way to the semi-finals. His exclusion over Payet seems highly questionable.

The panel included David Moyes, Alex Ferguson, Gareth Southgate, Packie Bonner, Alain Giresse,Mixu Paatelainen, Savo Milošević, Peter Rudbæk, Thomas Schaaf, Jean-François Domergue, Ginés Meléndez and Jean-Paul Brigger.

See Also: Which European Championships Had The Best Team Of The Tournament?





Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com