All The Winners From The RTÉ Sports Awards

All The Winners From The RTÉ Sports Awards
Gary Reilly
By Gary Reilly
Share this article

Sports Person of the Year

Rory McIlroy has won the RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year award for the second time following his imperious year at the head of the golfing fraternity.

He may have been controversially overlooked for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year but McIlroy can console himself with the Irish equivalent as he looks to maintain his place as the best golfer in the world. He beat out competition from the likes of Katie Taylor, Seamus Coleman and Johnny Sexton to claim the prize.

Team of the Year

The Cork Ladies football team have rewarded for being the most dominant outfit in Irish sport by being named the Team of the Year at the RTÉ Sports Awards.

Unlike the other awards, this was voted for by the public and the Cork Ladies beat out competition from Cork Camogie, Dundalk FC , Ireland Rugby, Kerry Senior Football  and Kilkenny Senior Hurling


Manager of the Year


Ireland rugby manager Joe Schmidt has been named Manager of the Year at the RTÉ Sports Awards.


Voted for by a panel of sports media folk, Schmidt beat fellow nominees Brian Cody, Jim Culloty, Éamonn Fitzmaurice, Stephen Kenny, Paul McGinley, Aidan O’Brien, Éamonn Ryan, Shane McGuigan and Pete Taylor.

Hall of Fame

There was also a proud moment for Brian O'Driscoll as he was inducted into the RTÉ Sport Hall of Fame.


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by