• Home
  • /
  • Football
  • /
  • Wojciech Szczesny Lost A Bet To Messi During World Cup Clash

Wojciech Szczesny Lost A Bet To Messi During World Cup Clash

Wojciech Szczesny Lost A Bet To Messi During World Cup Clash
Eoin Harrington
By Eoin Harrington
Share this article

Most fans would have been expecting it to be Robert Lewandowski but, in actuality, the hero of the World Cup group stages for Poland was goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny.

The ex-Arsenal man made two crucial penalty saves - one against Saudi Arabia in the second group game, and another in their final group game against Argentina - which kept his side in the competition, and allowed them to progress at Mexico's expense to the last 16.

Wednesday night's game against Argentina was a nervy affair, with Poland going through despite losing 2-0 on the night. The group ultimately came down to goal difference, meaning that Szczesny's saves were absolutely crucial in keeping Poland above Mexico.

His save against Argentina came from the legendary Lionel Messi, after a penalty was controversially awarded for a clash between the pair.

Speaking after the game, Szczesny revealed that he and Messi made a bet while the referee was reviewing the incident with his VAR team - and that the Argentine had come out on top.

Szczesny claims he and Messi made bet over penalty incident

Wojciech Szczesny could count himself unlucky to have conceded a penalty against Argentina. The Polish goalkeeper came charging out of his goal to claim the ball, but only managed a touch to the head of Lionel Messi.


Despite the contact, there was little in it, and it was a harsh decision from referee Danny Makkelie and his VAR team.


Szczesny revealed while speaking to TV2 that, while the incident was being reviewed, he offered Messi €100 in the event the penalty was given - such was his confidence it would not be awarded:

We spoke before the penalty [was given]. I told him I could bet him €100 that he wasn't going to give it.

So I've lost a bet against Messi. I don't know if that's allowed at the World Cup, I'm probably going to get banned for it, I don't care right now!


It's just as well Szczesny saved the spot kick, otherwise we imagine the Pole would have been feeling understandably peeved at the decision to award the penalty.

He saved the best line for last, when asked whether he would be paying up to Messi:

I'm not gonna pay him either! He doesn't care about €100, come on!

Yeah, I think so [he has enough].

Poland are through to the second round of a World Cup for the first time since the 1986 edition in Mexico, thanks in no small parts to the heroics of Wojciech Szczesny between the sticks.

The last 16 tie has thrown up a savage draw, with one of the tournament favourites France lying in wait on Sunday afternoon. Poland will need Szczesny in top form to keep out the attacking might of Kylian Mbappé, Ousmane Dembelé, and co.


SEE ALSO: Melbourne Goes Absolutely Mental As Australia Reach Round Of 16


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com