• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The 2016 Hurling All-Star Nominees Have Been Announced

The 2016 Hurling All-Star Nominees Have Been Announced

The 2016 Hurling All-Star Nominees Have Been Announced
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

The 2016 hurling All-Star nominees have been named.

All-Ireland champions Tipperary have by far the most players on the list with 15. Beaten finalists Kilkenny have eight.

The remaining 22 breaks down as follows: semi-finalists Waterford and Galway have nine and six respectively. Clare have three, Wexford two and Limerick and Cork one each.

The shortlist for Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year have also been announced.

Player of the Year Nominees

1. Austin Gleeson (Waterford) 2. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary) 3. Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)

Young Player of the Year Nominees


1. Ronan Maher (Tipperary) 2. Austin Gleeson (Waterford) 3. Shane Bennett (Waterford)

Here's the full list.



1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Darren Gleeson (Tipperary)

3. Colm Callanan (Galway)



1. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

2. James Barry (Tipperary)


3. Daithí Burke (Galway)

4. Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford)

5. Shane Fives (Waterford)


6. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

7. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

8. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)


9. Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

10. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

11. Michael Cahill (Tipperary)

12. Séamus Kennedy (Tipperary)

13. Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick)

14. Noel Connors (Waterford)

15. Philip Mahony (Waterford)


16. Cian Dillon (Clare)

17. Pádraig Mannion (Galway)

18. Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)


1. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

2. David Burke (Galway)

3. Michael Breen (Tipperary)

4. Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny)

5. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

6. Kevin Moran (Waterford)


1. Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)

2. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

3. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

4. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

5. Pauric Mahony (Waterford)

6. John McGrath (Tipperary)

7. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

8. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)

9. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

10. Conor Cooney (Galway)

11. Tony Kelly (Clare)

12. Dan McCormack (Tipperary)

13. Joe Canning (Galway)

14. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

15. Michael Walsh (Waterford)

16. Lee Chin (Wexford)

17. Colm Galvin (Clare)

18. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com