• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Antrim And Laois Dominate Junior And Intermediate Ladies Football Awards

Antrim And Laois Dominate Junior And Intermediate Ladies Football Awards

Antrim And Laois Dominate Junior And Intermediate Ladies Football Awards
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Champions Antrim and Laois dominate this year's Teams of the Championship for the junior and intermediate grades in ladies football.

Laois were crowned All-Ireland intermediate champions in July when they defeated Wexford 1-13 to 1-11 at Croke Park. They have seven players on this year's intermediate selection, while runners-up Wexford have four. Clare, with three players, and Roscommon with one, round out the team.

The junior final was an all-Ulster encounter with Antrim eventually defeating Fermanagh following a replay for the West County Hotel Cup at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh. Antrim have eight players on junior XV, while Fermanagh have four, Carlow two, and Limerick one.

The teams were selected by members of the LGFA’s All Star committe.

31 July 2022; Laois players celebrate after their side's victory in the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Intermediate Championship Final match between Laois and Wexford at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

TG4 Junior Team of the Ladies Football Championship

1. Anna McCann – Antrim


2. Kristine Reidy – Limerick
3. Aislinn McFarland – Antrim
4. Niamh McIntosh – Antrim

5. Sarah McCarville – Fermanagh
6. Saoirse Tennyson – Antrim
7. Sarah O’Neill – Antrim

8. Lara Dahunsi – Antrim
9. Aisling O’Brien – Fermanagh


10. Cathy Carey – Antrim
11. Bláithín Bogue – Fermanagh
12. Rachel Sawyer – Carlow


13. Sara Doyle – Carlow
14. Orlaith Prenter – Antrim
15. Eimear Smyth – Fermanagh

County by county breakdown: Antrim 8, Fermanagh 4, Carlow 2, Limerick 1.


TG4 Intermediate Team of the Ladies Football Championship

1. Eimear Barry – Laois

2. Sarah Harding Kenny – Wexford
3. Aisling Donoher – Laois
4. Tara Kelly – Clare

5. Rachel Williams – Laois
6. Róisín Murphy – Wexford
7. Ellen Healy – Laois


8. Aisling Reidy – Clare
9. Laura Fleming – Roscommon

10. Caitríona Murray – Wexford
11. Laura-Marie Maher – Laois
12. Erone Fitzpatrick – Laois

13. Mo Nerney – Laois
14. Aisling Murphy – Wexford
15. Fidelma Marrinan – Clare


County by county breakdown: Laois 7, Wexford 4, Clare 3, Roscommon 1.

Quiz: Identify The Most Successful Football Team In These 10 Counties

club gaa quiz most successful football club



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com