• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • All-Ireland Minor Football Final: Everything You Need To Know

All-Ireland Minor Football Final: Everything You Need To Know

All-Ireland Minor Football Final: Everything You Need To Know
By Luke Delaney

There's an exciting conclusion to the All-Ireland minor championship this weekend as Mayo face Connacht rivals Galway in the final at Dr.Hyde Park. Here's all the information you need to know, including how to watch the All-Ireland Minor final.

When is the All-Ireland Minor final?

Throw in is at 7:15pm on Friday the 8th of July.

How to watch the All-Ireland Minor final

Coverage starts on TG4 at 6:45pm.

Form Guide

Mayo reached the final after a dramatic win over Kerry in the semifinal, beating them by four points. Mayo have already beaten Galway twice this season, beating them in the round robin competition and the Connacht final.

READ HERE: 46 Standout Gaelic Footballers Playing In America This Summer

After their impressive showing in the provincial championship, they faced Kildare in the All-Ireland quarterfinal where they won 3-18 to 3-12.

Ronan Clarke and Cathal Keaveney have been in good form for Mayo this season as have Diarmuid Duffy and Niall Hurley and should they beat Galway for a third time this season, the quartet will need to be in good form.


Sean Deane on the semifinal win

Speaking after the win over Kerry, Mayo manager Sean Deane said:

"It was and we knew it would be. There are probably a couple of things that contributed to that; the conditions today were difficult and were more than they were a few weeks ago (quarter-final against Kildare ), with that swirling breeze; and obviously, Kerry had a very, very good defensive structure and we knew that would be difficult to break down and we had to be patient, which we were; and there were times in the game when it ebbed and flowed and when you looked at the first 15 minutes of the game, they were definitely on top and the goal changed the trajectory of the rest of that half.

"But it was a real battling performance by my guys and I am so proud of them in terms of what they have achieved. Some of the games we have won, coming in the home stretch, we were comfortably in the lead; that wasn't the case at all today and we had our back to the wall. We had a number of frees and opportunities that we didn't take and that came down to that swirling breeze, which was very difficult to play against."

Galway have overcome Dublin and Derry on their difficult path to the final, beating the Ulster side 2-9 to 1-11 a couple of weeks ago. Colm Costello and Éanna Monaghan are the danger men for Galway and combined for 1-8 in their last outting.

Mayo last won an All-Ireland minor title back in 2013, while the Tribesmen have to go back to to 2007 for their last All-Ireland Minor win.


SEE ALSO: Offaly Uproar Over Minor Final Refereeing Decisions

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com