• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Ballyhale Survive Incredible Kilmacud Crokes Fightback To Win Leinster Final

Ballyhale Survive Incredible Kilmacud Crokes Fightback To Win Leinster Final

Ballyhale Survive Incredible Kilmacud Crokes Fightback To Win Leinster Final
Michael Bolton
By Michael Bolton
Share this article

Ballyhale Shamrocks survived an huge second half comeback from Kilmacud Crokes to win the Leinster Senior Hurling final 2-22 to 2-19.

Both sides had history going into the clash. For Ballyhale, they were aiming for their fourth Leinster hurling title in a row, while Kilmacud Crokes were in their first Leinster final, as they chased a historic double alongside their footballers.

In an absolutely thrilling contest in Croke Park, it was the experience from Ballyhale in vital moments that made the difference, who must have had last season's All-Ireland final defeat at the back of their minds when Kilmacud were in touching distance of them.

It was the Kilkenny champions who started the stronger of the two sides, with TJ Reid and Fergal Whitely putting over the best of the scores.

Ballyhale took control of the game halfway through the first half and had their first goal through man of the match Colin Fennelly, who reacted first from a fantastic save as they opened up an 11 point lead at the interval, with the game looking over as a contest.


Whatever was said inside the Kilmacud Crokes dressing room, it worked wonders as they came flying out of the blocks in the the second half.

Caólan Conway's goal in the 34th minute kick started their comeback as they looked like a new team after the interval, with Ballyhale having no answer to their response.


The Dublin champions were within one point of Ballyhale at one stage in the came, as they scored their second goal through Alex Considine, who was denied just moments before. During this 14 minute period, Kilmacud Crokes scored an incredible 2-8 to Ballyhale's 0-2.

In a thrilling contest, Ballyhale were handed a lifeline as Eoin Kenneally's long ball somehow went past everyone and dropped into the Kilmacud net.

While both sides exchanged scores in an end-to-end finale to the game, it was Ballyhale who once again ran out as champions of Leinster, as they aim for their third All-Ireland title in five years.


SEE ALSO: Ballygunner Look Unstoppable As They March Past Ballylea To Win Munster Hurling Title 




Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com