• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • GAA & GPA Announce Lower-Tier Hurling Teams Of The Year

GAA & GPA Announce Lower-Tier Hurling Teams Of The Year

GAA & GPA Announce Lower-Tier Hurling Teams Of The Year
By Arthur James O'Dea
Share this article

To coincide with tonight's announcement of the 2018 PwC All-Star Awards, the GAA and the GPA have revealed the outstanding performers from this year's Joe McDonagh, Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Hurling Championships.

Won by Carlow, Kildare, Donegal and Sligo respectively, the Champion 15 awards take on a slightly different look from the traditional All-Stars format.

Instead of selecting 15 players for 15 distinct positions, the committees in question simply select the top 15 hurlers from that year's competition; irrespective of position.

Representing a wide range of counties with this year's selections, CEO of the GPA Paul Flynn congratulated the winners for what they "have contributed to a thrilling championship."


Likewise, President of the GAA John Horan was quick to commend the incalculable work these tournaments do in generating a sense of excitement around hurling across the country.

Furthermore, playing for cups "dedicated to GAA legends," each of those represented in the 2018 Champion 15 selections can take great pride in what is a stellar personal achievement.

Due to receive their awards alongside the Liam MacCarthy All-Star award winners at this evening's function in Dublin's Convention Centre, you can read a full list of the 2018 winners below.


Joe McDonagh Cup - Champion 15

Edward Byrne, Brian Tracey, James Doyle, Chris Nolan, David English, Paul Doyle (Carlow), Derek McNicholas, Allan Devine, Paul Greville, Patrick Carroll, Eoin Price (Westmeath), Sean Weir (Kerry), Ross King (Laois), Neil McManus (Antrim) and Joey Keena (Meath).

Christy Ring Cup - Champion 15

Paddy McKenna, Eanna O'Neill, Mark Moloney, Jack Sheridan (Kildare), Brian Regan, Denis O'Regan, Aaron Sheehan (London), John Henderson, Warren Kavanagh (Wicklow), Cian Waldron, Cormac O'Doherty (Derry), Dáithí Sands (Down), Stephen Renaghan (Armagh), Naos Connaughton (Roscommon) and David Kenny (Mayo).

Nicky Rackard & Lory Meagher Cups - Champion 15

Declan Coulter, Stephen Gillespie (Donegal), Shane Caulfield, Niall McKenna (Warwickshire), Dermot Begley (Tyrone), Kevin Crawley (Monaghan), Stephen Kettle (Louth), John Casey (Longford), Declan Molloy (Leitrim), James Weird, Gary Cadden (Sligo), Ronan Crowley, Edmond Kenny (Lancashire), Ryan Bogue (Fermanagh) and Kevin Connelly (Cavan).


See Also: 'If Mickey Mouse Was There He’d Have Gone Well As Captain Of That Team!'

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com