• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Canning And Duignan Disagree On Wexford Penalty Shout Vs Clare

Canning And Duignan Disagree On Wexford Penalty Shout Vs Clare

Canning And Duignan Disagree On Wexford Penalty Shout Vs Clare
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Clare came back from six points down in the 59th minute of Saturday's All-Ireland hurling quarter-final against Clare to win the game by four.

By the 70th minute, the scoreline had swung by nine points in Clare's favour, and they led by three. A long ball towards Lee Chin - a tactic which was fruitful for Wexford in the second half - saw the forward hauled down by Cian Nolan.

On commentary for RTÉ, Michael Duignan said that Wexford should have been awarded a penalty.

"I think this is a clear goal scoring chance," said the All-Ireland winner from Offaly.

"If [Lee Chin] slips around [Cian Nolan] here, it's a clear goal scoring chance. Should that not be a penalty and a black card?It should be.

"That's what that rule is for. Lee Chin gets the ball, he's gone around him, he's the last defender. To me that's a penalty and a black card."

That was an assessment with which both Davy Fitzgerald and Joe Canning disagreed after the game.


"I honestly think the two Clare defenders were getting back, and were probably going to be in his way," said Fitzgerald.

Canning added: "I don't agree with Michael on that. I think the two boys, Paul Flanagan and John Conlon were going to come back. I think it was the right decision."

Canning also though that both of Wexford's goals in the second half should have been ruled out for square balls. Fitzgerald described the goals as "dodge".


"I don't know if Lee Chin really got a touch or not, but I think his foot is just inside the square before the ball comes," said Canning about Wexford's second goal of the game, which came after a long ball forward from goalkeeper Mark Fanning.

"I don't think it should have been a goal. I think it should have been a square ball."

Regarding Wexford's third goal, scored by Chin, Canning said: "Conor MacDonald is definitely in the square here before the ball comes in, obstructing Eibhear Quilligan. For me, that should have been a square ball as well, and a free out. I don't think those two goals should have been given to Wexford."


See Also: A Year Ago, Shane O'Donnell Thought He'd Never Play Hurling For Clare Again

clare wexford lee chin penalty claim



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com