It's been a day of contentious calls from GAA referees. Many spent this afternoon discussing a red card in the Fitzgibbon Cup final. Tonight, many on social media are talking about an Armagh penalty that appeared to be a goal.
The Fitzgibbon Cup final in Carlow was swung in some part by the decision by Fergal Horgan to send off Cian Lynch in the second half of the match. The dismissal of NUIG's talisman seemed to give UL the impetus to overturn a five-point deficit and win the match in injury time. Most hurling people watching the match believed the challenge was not a red card offense.
Meanwhile, tonight at the Athletic Grounds, there was another controversial officiating decision in the Monahan v Armagh match in Division 1 of the Allianz League. The match was played in apocalyptic conditions. Armagh trailed in the 51st minute by five points but were awarded a penalty.
Rian O'Neill stepped up to take the spot kick. He smashed it off the crossbar. The ball bounced down and then Rory Beggan punched the ball clear before O'Neill could bundle the rebound in.
Referee Barry Cassidy put himself in the ideal position to view the penalty, and also had two umpires to assist him.
However, after the match, a number of videos have surfaced filmed by fans right along the goal line - from either stand. From running these replays back, the ball can appears to bounce beyond the goal line.
Here's one still, note the white ball has bounced down after striking the goal post and appears to have cleared the goal line.
Screengrab of the Armagh penalty
All of the inevitable VAR tweets were deserved.
Armagh would score a goal just minutes later but the match finished level and those two points would have gone a long way for Kieran McGeeney and co. Armagh remain top of Division 1 with Monaghan in fifth place and still chasing their first victory of the campaign.