• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Cork Sport: A Pictorial Trip Through The Years

Cork Sport: A Pictorial Trip Through The Years

PJ Browne
By PJ Browne Updated

Cork and its people have been responsible for some of the great moments in Irish sports down the years.

This is a look at Cork sport via the archives of Sportsfile.


Ray Cummins lifts Liam MacCarthy as Cork start a three-in-row run between 1976 and 1978

The 1978 Cork hurling team which beat Kilkenny to win their third consecutive All-Ireland

Kilkenny's Brian Cody attempts to block down Cork's John Horgan in 1978

John Crowley eyes the sliotar against Offaly in the 1984 All-Ireland final

Jimmy Barry Murphy in action against Galway during the 1986 All-Ireland decider


Cork captain Tom Cashman lifts Liam MacCarthy after the 1986 All-Ireland final

Dinny Allen lifts Sam Maguire after Cork beat Mayo to the 1989 All-Ireland football final

Larry Tompkins and John O'Driscoll celebrate the 1989 All-Ireland win


John Fitzgibbon celebrates during the 1990 All-Ireland hurling final

Teddy McCarthy claims the sliotar during the 1990 final

Tomás Mulcahy lifts Liam MacCarthy in 1990


Billy Morgan celebrates winning the 1990 All-Ireland football final in Croke Park twilight

Cork players celebrate winning consecutive All-Ireland football titles

Cork supporters grasp for a hold of Liam MacCarthy under the Hogan Stand


An ecstatic and saturated Cork manager Jimmy Barry Murphy after beating Kilkenny in 1999

JBM brings Liam MacCarthy to Cork supporters on Hill 16

JBM and a bloodied John Browne


Brian Corcoran celebrates winning the 2004 All-Ireland final

Donal Óg Cusack walks the Hogan Stand after winning in 2004

Diarmuid O'Sullivan after Cork won two-in-a-row in 2005


Cork captain Seán Óg Ó hAilpín lifts Liam MacCarthy in 2005

Cork claim their fifth All-Ireland in eight years - 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2009

Mary O'Connor lifts the Brendan Martin Cup as Cork win their fifth consecutive All-Ireland Ladies Football title

Aidan Walsh celebrates Cork winning the 2010 All-Ireland football final

A joyous Cork captain Graham Canty after beating Down

Cork captain Ashling Thompson with the O'Duffy Cup as Cork win consecutive titles 2014 - 2015

Captain Ciara O'Sullivan after Cork won their sixth consecutive All-Ireland Ladies Football title


Sonia O'Sullivan celebrates winning the 5,000m at the 1998 European Championships

Double gold for Sonia as she also took the 10,000m gold in 1998

Silver for Sonia in the 5,000m at the Sydney Olympics

Derval O'Rourke wins silver in the 100m hurdles at the 2006 European Championships

Derval O'Rourke on her way to winning 100m hurdles silver at the 2010 European Championships

Rob Heffernan celebrates with his wife Marian after winning gold at the 2013 World Championships


Donal Lenihan vs Wales at Cardiff Arms Park 1983

Michael Kiernan's 1985 drop goal to sink England (we've written more about that)

Peter Stringer darts away to score against Biarritz in the 2006 Heineken Cup final

Ronan O'Gara's 2009 Grand Slam winning drop goal


Denis Irwin celebrates World Cup qualification in 1993

A Cork piggyback

Goalscorer Derek Coughlan plants one on John Caulfield after Cork City win the 97/98 FAI Cup Final

Roy Keane greatest performance for Ireland: Holland 2001

Cork win crowned 2005 League of Ireland winners

Cork City players celebrate after winning the 2007 FAI Cup

Sean Maguire celebrates after scoring the winner for Cork City against Dundalk in the 2016 FAI Cup final


O'Donovan brothers Gary and Paul win silver in the lightweight double sculls at the Rio Olympics

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com