Dublin And Cork Name Teams For The All-Ireland Final

Dublin And Cork Name Teams For The All-Ireland Final

Dublin and Cork have named unchanged teams starting teams for TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Senior Football Final, with the reigning champions naming 14 of the 15 players who started last year's final. With Rachel Ruddy away travelling this year, Siobhan McGrath will start against a Cork team that has undergone a lot of change since they beat Dublin in the 2016 decider.

Only seven of the starting team from two years ago will be lining out from the get-go this Sunday, namely goalkeeper Martina O’Brien, Róisín Phelan, Shauna Kelly, Áine O’Sullivan, Ciara O’Sullivan, Doireann O’Sullivan and Orla Finn.

The full teams are:

Cork: M O’Brien; E Meaney, R Phelan, M Duggan; M O’Callaghan, S Kelly, E Spillane; A Hutchings, H Looney; C O’Sullivan (capt.), L Coppinger, E Scally; Á O’Sullivan, D O’Sullivan, O Finn.

Dublin: C Trant; M Byrne, S Finnegan, L Caffrey; S Goldrick, S McGrath, N Collins; L Magee, O Carey; C Rowe, N Healy, L Davey; S Aherne (capt.), N McEvoy, N Owens.

Elsewhere, Meath are unchanged ahead of their intermediate final against Tyrone, who make three changes from their semi-final win over Sligo.

Meath: M McGuirk; O Duff, O Lally, K Newe; N Gallogly, S Ennis, M Thynne; M O’Shaughnessy, K Byrne; A Cleary, V Wall, S Grimes; M Farrelly, N O’Sullivan (capt.), F O’Neill.


Tyrone: S Lynch; N McGirr, J Barrett, C Conway; S McCarroll, E Mulgrew, E Brennan; N Woods (capt.), E.J. Gervin; Á Canavan, L Quinn, N Hughes; G Rafferty, G Begley, C McCaffrey.

Áine McGrath's inclusion is Limerick's only switch ahead of the junior final, while Louth have named the same starting 15 which beat Derry in the semi-final.

Limerick: M Giltenane; K Reidy, S O’Sullivan, A Hartigan; Á McGrath, N Ryan, M O’Shea; L Hanley, C Mee (capt.); C Ní Cheallaigh, R Delee, R Ambrose; O Giltenane, C Davis, M Kavanagh.

Louth: U Pearson; E Murray, S McLoughlin, M McMahon; A Russell, C Nolan, N Rice; Á Breen, K Flood (capt.); L Boyle, B Fleming, J McGuinness; R Carr; E Byrne, S Woods.

The senior final throws in at 4pm, while the intermediate and junior finals throw in at 1.45pm and 11.45am respectively.


Mark Farrelly
Article written by
Balls Media Audience Development Manager. Former Miss World 1997 contestant.

You may also like