• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Tipp Beat The Dubs, Tyrone Top Roscommon in Eirgrid All-Ireland U21 Championship Semis

Tipp Beat The Dubs, Tyrone Top Roscommon in Eirgrid All-Ireland U21 Championship Semis

Tipp Beat The Dubs, Tyrone Top Roscommon in Eirgrid All-Ireland U21 Championship Semis
By PJ Browne Updated

Tipperary will face Tyrone in the Eirgrid All-Ireland U21 Championship final on May 2nd after they beat Dublin and Roscommon respectively.

Tipperary 0-14 Dublin 0-12

Four points down at half time, Tipperary pulled off a second half comeback to beat Dublin in the Eirgrid All-Ireland U21 Championship semi-final at O'Connor Park.

Midfielder Steven O'Brien was the hero for the Munster side, scoring the point which put his team one up with the clock in the red. It was a brilliant finish to the game with Dublin having clawed back a two point deficit in injury time to draw level at 12 points each before Man of the Match O'Brien and then corner forward Kevin O'Halloran scored the decisive points.

Dublin led 0-7 to 0-3 at the half and actually opened the gap to five points early in the second period. Tipperary made the best of a strong wind in Tullamore though and outscored the Dubs 11 points to five in the second half.

The victory means Tipp progress to their first ever Eirgrid U21 Championship final.

Tipperary scorers:

Kevin O'Halloran 0-4 (3 frees), Josh Keane 0-3 (3 frees), Colin O'Riordan 0-2, Steven O'Brien 0-2, Liam Casey 0-1, Jason Lonergan 0-1, Ross Mulcahy 0-1.


Dublin scorers:

Conor McHugh 0-4 (1 free), Cormac Costello 0-4 (3 frees), Shane Carthy 0-2, Colm Basquel 0-1, David Campbell 0-1.

Tyrone 0-17 Roscommon 0-12

Markievicz Park was the venue for the second semi-final of the Eirgrid All-Ireland U21 Championship. Tyrone ran out five point winners mainly thanks to the sharpshooting of corner forward Lee Brennan. The Trillick man scored six points, five of which came from play.


He was not the only star for the Ulster side though with midfielder Cathal McShane and fullback Padraig Hampsey outstanding. Hampsey would be awarded Man of the Match.

Tyrone led from start to finish, taking a three-point advantage into the break on a scoreline of 0-10 to 0-7. Roscommon were unable to reel in their opponents despite the efforts of Diarmuid Murtagh who was the game's joint top scorer along with Brennan.

Tyrone scorers:


Lee Brennan 0-6 (1 free), Daniel McNulty 0-4 (3 frees), Cathal McShane 0-3, Mark Kavanagh 0-2, Michael Cassidy 0-1, Francis Burns 0-1.

Roscommon scorers:

Diarmuid Murtagh 0-6 (4 frees), Cathal Compton 0-3, Ronan Daly (1 free), Thomas Corcoran 0-1 (45), Jack Early 0-1.


Picture credit: Ramsey Cardy / SPORTSFILE
Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com