• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The GAA Have Made Some Major Changes To 2021 Football & Hurling Championships

The GAA Have Made Some Major Changes To 2021 Football & Hurling Championships

The GAA Have Made Some Major Changes To 2021 Football & Hurling Championships
By Conor McKenna
Share this article

The GAA Championships are set to change in 2021, with Super 8s and hurling round robin competitions scrapped.

In football, there will be provincial knock-out championships, with qualifiers for losers in Division 1 and 2, while Division 3 and 4 losers, who don't make the provincial finals, will play in the Tailteann Cup.

The All-Ireland quarter finals will return to their traditional straight knock-out format, instead of the Round Robin 'Super 8s' series trialled in 2018 and 2019.

One interesting takeaway is that the 2020 Provincial winners will be in the All-Ireland Championship regardless of their league placing. This could be a big boost for Tipperary, Cavan and Mayo, all of whom will play in Division Two or Division Three of next year's league.

In hurling, provincial hurling knock-out championships will take place with a back-door qualifier system, similar to what we saw this year. There will be relegation from the Leinster Championship, but not from the Munster Championship.


The Tailteann Cup final is to be a curtain raiser to the All-Ireland hurling semi-final, taking place on the weekend of June 26/27.

The All-Ireland football final will take place on weekend of July 18th, with the hurling decider taking place the previous weekend on July 11th.


The full format of the 2021 championships can be viewed here, with inter-county panels permitted to return to training in mid January.

There will be six teams in the Leinster hurling championship, with Kilkenny and Galway seeded and the other four will be in the quarter finals. The two losers of those quarter finals will face each other in a relegation play-off, with the winner of that play off going into qualifiers, while the loser is relegated to Joe McDonagh Cup.

The Joe McDonagh Cup champions will be promoted, but will not join All-Ireland championship at a preliminary quarter final stage as had been the case in the last couple of years.


The club window will be from July 24th onwards.

SEE ALSO: The 19th Series Of Laochra Gael Is Coming And It's Possibly The Best Lineup Yet

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com