• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • GAA Round-Up: Shock Exit For Henry Shefflin's Club And Crossmaglen Rule In Armagh

GAA Round-Up: Shock Exit For Henry Shefflin's Club And Crossmaglen Rule In Armagh

GAA Round-Up: Shock Exit For Henry Shefflin's Club And Crossmaglen Rule In Armagh
Sinead Farrell
By Sinead Farrell
Share this article

There was a feast of GAA action this weekend with county finals taking place in both codes in several counties. Crossmaglen Rangers reaffirmed their dominance in Armagh with an incredible 19th county title in 20 seasons while in hurling, Ballyhale Shamrocks crashed out of the Kilkenny championship.

Football Round-Up



All-Ireland champions Corofin extended their unbeaten run in Galway by winning the county final for a third consecutive time and their 17 in all. Stephen Rochford's side never looked in danger against a Mountbellew/Moylough side who were bidding for a first championship title since 1986.


In a repeat of last year's final, Crossmaglen Rangers cruised to a 2-22 to 0-10 victory over Armagh Harps. Oisin McConville can now refocus their side to atone for last year's disappointing defeat to Omagh in the Ulster quarter-final.

In the Cavan SFC Final, Kingscourt edged a thread bare victory over Castlerahan in Breffni Park. Castlerahan lead by three at half-time, but Philip Tinnelly emerged the hero for Kingscourt, finding the net in the last nine minutes to leave the final scoreline reading 1-09 to 0-11.


There was a shock defeat in the Kerry championship with Colm Cooper's club Dr Crokes crashing out at the quarter-final stage against Rathmore.

colm co

Elsewhere in Offaly, Edenderry derailed reigning champions Rhode in O'Connor Park, while in Westmeath John Heslin and Ken Sharry helped St Loman's claim their fifth county championship in Cusack Park.


Lee Gordon and Ciaran Moran netted for Palatine who won the Carlow SFC while Rathnew triumphed comfortably in Wicklow at the expense of the St Patrick's club, winning 3-06 to 0-09.

Kilcoo dominated Castlewellan in the Down Championship final with a hat-trick of goals coming from Jerome Johnston, Paul Grennan and Ryan Johnston. The other winners in Ulster were Trillick in Tyrone and Derrygonnelly Harps in Fermanagh.

Trillick executed a famous turnaround to win the senior county championship against Killyclogher just one year on from losing the Intermediate final. Roslea Shamrocks, who were going for their third Fermanagh title in a row, were undone by Derrygonnelly Harps who last won the county final in 2009.


Hurling Round-Up

There was heartache for Henry Shefflin and his cohorts as reigning champions Ballyhale Shamrocks were dethroned by O’Loughlin Gaels in the Kilkenny hurling semi-final by two points.

cork hurl

In the Cork SHC, Glen Rovers emerged victorious after holding off the challenge of Sarsfields in Páirc Uí Rinn with the final scoreline reading 2-17 to 1-13.


The Limerick county title will reside in the Na Piarsaigh clubhouse this year as they hit eight of the last 10 scores to defeat Patrickswell at the Gaelic Grounds.

clare hurl

Thirty-nine-year-old Niall Gilligan inspired Sixmilebridge  to victory, hitting 13 points on their way to offing Clonlara in the Clare SHC decider. Their 1-21 to 0-15 will be all the sweeter considering that opposition manager Seán Stack is a Sixmilebridge native who won seven county titles as a player.


St Fechins held off the challenge of Pearse Óg in the Louth hurling final while Kiltale overcame Kildalkey by 2-15 to 0-12 in the Meath SHC.

The Mayo SHC title was claimed by Ballyhaunis on a final scoreline of 0-20 to 0-14, while the Roscommon hurling final will go to a replay between Four Roads and Padraig Pearses.



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com