• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Galway's Minor Domination In Connacht Continues

Galway's Minor Domination In Connacht Continues

Galway's Minor Domination In Connacht Continues
Daniel Kelly
By Daniel Kelly
Share this article

There was a busy few days across Connacht and Leinster in the past week as the Electric Ireland Minor Football Championship is reaching it's provincial conclusion.

In the West, Galway continued their domination of the Connacht minor championship with their third consecutive title, with the Leinster minor semifinals serving up a very novel final pairing after last week's respective semi-final ties.

Players from Galway, Dublin and Louth all put in superb performances across the fixtures to make up the nominees for the Electric Ireland Minor Player of the Week voting. You can cast your ballot every week on Electric Ireland's Facebook page, and get involved in the conversation through #GAAThisIsMajor.

Evan Murphy - Galway

The Salthill-Knocknacarra midfielder won his second minor provincial title in-a-row with a Man of the Match performance against Sligo on Sunday in Pearse Stadium.

Playing on front of his home fans, Murphy scored 0-1 but was directly responsible for setting up two of Galway's three goals in their ten-point win.

Galway has has a proud tradition of producing dominating midfielders. Two Connacht titles in a row means the Tribesmen may have another midfield star in their midst in the near future.

David Lacey - Dublin


Dublin's minors reached their first Leinster final since 2014 last week, after a five-point win over the defending champions Kildare.


Looking for their first Leinster title in three years, the Na Fianna corner-forward David Lacey impressed. He scored 0-5 in the win, with all but one point coming from play. Lacey also scored the game's final point as Dublin booked their place in the Final.

After missing the first match of Dublin's campaign, Lacey has proven himself to be one of the stars of the talented forward line.


Conor Gillespie - Louth

It's taken 46 years, but Louth's minor footballers are back in a Leinster Final. Last week, the Wee County defeated Wexford by a point to book their place against Dublin in the Croke Park decider next Sunday.

Conor Gillespie, the Ardee St. Marys half-forward was the star for Louth. He scored a goal either side of half-time and 2-3 in total as his team came from seven-points down to record a famous win.


Louth last won their Leinster Minor Football Championship in 1953. If they are to be victorious in 2017, Gillespie and his teammates will need another excellent performance on Sunday.

You can cast your vote for the Player of the Week nominees every week on Electric Ireland's Facebook page.



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com