• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The Hurler Of The Year, Young Hurler And Team Of The Year Team So Far In Hurling

The Hurler Of The Year, Young Hurler And Team Of The Year Team So Far In Hurling

The Hurler Of The Year, Young Hurler And Team Of The Year Team So Far In Hurling
Niall McIntyre
By Niall McIntyre Updated
Share this article

Just like that, the provincial championships have come and gone.

Limerick and Kilkenny were both victorious again meaning that - how about this for a quiz question - Wexford are the last county outside of those two to land a provincial crown.

That came in 2019 under Davy Fitzgerald.

Neither provincial final really lived up to the lofty billing at the weekend but the championships in general were both dramatic, with the Leinster renewal arguably as competitive as it's ever been.

Only eight teams remain now as race for Liam MacCarthy heats up.

But before focusing on this weekend's All-Ireland preliminary quarter finals, let's look back at the provincial championships.

Here is our team of the year so far, across Leinster and Munster.


Léigh an scéal seo trí Ghaeilge ar Liathróidí.ie brúigh anseo.

Hurling team of the year so far

1 Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

Has been busier than previous years and has pulled off some great saves. Will be disappointed with his role in the confusion that led to Peter Duggan's Munster final goal but made a sharp save from Aidan McCarthy on the same day.

2 John Bellew (Dublin)

Diligent in his defensive duties and also got forward for scores against Galway and Kilkenny.


One of Dublin's most improved players and one of few who emerged from Leinster final with credit.

Photo by Tyler Miller/Sportsfile

3 Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

Has hardly put a foot wrong once again, and got to grips with Shane O'Donnell as the Munster final wore on, though that was partly to do with Clare's failure to get the ball into their danger-man.

4 Mike Casey (Limerick)

Steady and safe in the corner for Limerick, as ever.

5 Robert Downey (Cork)

His dominance of the half back line has been a key factor in Cork's return to form after the two losses that opened their Munster championship campaign.


Photo by Daire Brennan/Sportsfile

6 Tadhg De Búrca (Waterford)

Back to his best.


De Búrca made a mockery of a relatively light preparation for the championship by storming into the games against Cork and Tipperary. He was sensational against Tipperary in particular.

7 Kyle Hayes (Limerick)


Has been phenomenal, raiding forward for eight points from play in five games so far and has also been faultless in defence.

Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

8 James McNaughton (Antrim)

McNaughton terrorised defences all over Leinster this year with his lightning pace. Scored 2-3 against Carlow in their crucial relegation decider. Hit 3-18 in five Leinster championship games.

9 Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

Another man who's back to his best with 0-14 from play in four Munster championship games.

Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

10 Gearoid Hegarty (Limerick)

He's back in his Hurler of the Year form of 2020, with 1-11 from play in five games so far.

11 John Donnelly (Kilkenny)

The Thomastown player is playing some of the hurling of his life right now. Hit Dublin for 0-7 from play in Parnell Park in his best display so far.

12 Lee Chin (Wexford)

Wexford's man for all seasons, still. Chin has hit a whopping 3-54 in five Leinster championship matches so far.

Photo by Michael P Ryan/Sportsfile

13 Shane O'Donnell (Clare)

Was let down by the poor quality of ball from team-mates in the Munster final. Has carried Clare with his scores and assists throughout the year.

14 Alan Connolly (Cork)

Showed off his lethal finishing with a brilliant hat-trick against Tipperary last time out. Hit 4-9 in four round-robin games.

15 Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

Quickly becoming one of the best goal-getters in the game.

Missed some of Kilkenny's earlier games through injury but stepped up with brilliant goals in both games against Dublin.

Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

The team was very hard to pick, particularly in the forward division with Cork's Shane Barrett and Patrick Horgan very unlucky to miss out. In midfield, Cian Kenny and Cathal O'Neill deserve honourable mentions.

Hurler of the Year nominees:

Shane O'Donnell, John Donnelly, Gearoid Hegarty, Lee Chin, Kyle Hayes.

Selection: Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

Shades his team-mate Hegarty for the award on the back of a string of power-packed displays.

Young Hurler of the Year nominees:

Shane O'Brien, Adam Hogan, Paddy Doyle

Selection: Shane O'Brien (Limerick)

Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Still just 20, 'the Bull' has shown his class against Waterford and Clare, racking up five from play across the two games. Marked out as a star since winning a Croke Cup with Ard Scoil Rís in 2022, the youngster has had no trouble whatsoever adapting to senior hurling.



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com