• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The Irish International Rules Squad Has Been Named

The Irish International Rules Squad Has Been Named

The Irish International Rules Squad Has Been Named
Michael McCarthy
By Michael McCarthy
Share this article

It may have lost some lustre in recent years, but being chosen to represent Ireland in the International Rules series still remains a great honour for Gaelic footballers.

It may not be the case for the Dublin three-in-a-row team, who all miss out for various reasons, but players from 14 other counties are represented.

Manager Joe Kernan has named a 21 man panel for the two test series in Australia, which will take place on the 12th November in Adelaide, and the 18th November in Perth.

The team will be captained by Mayo's Aidan O'Shea, who is named in an Ireland squad for the fourth time. He is one of three Mayo players included in the squad, along with Chris Barrett and Brendan Harrison

Alongside them, Mayo man and Gold Coast Suns player Pearce Hanley will represent Ireland, as will Laois and Geelong's Zach Tuohy. Unfortunately, Conor McKenna misses out through injury.


The team's vice captain will be Conor McManus of Monaghan, who will be joined by his Monaghan teammate Karl O'Connell. McManus is a veteran of two previous Ireland squads in 2013 and 2014.

Kerry are represented by Paul Murphy, Peter Crowley and Paul Geaney, while Tyrone send goalkeeper Niall Morgan and Niall Sludden.


Michael Murphy, one of the stars of the series in recent years is Donegal's only representative, while Clare, Cork, Cavan, Kildare, Sligo, Roscommon, and Galway have also all got one player in the squad.

Seven players will were also named on stand-by, two of whom will be added to the squad before they depart for Australia.

The Ireland Panel in full: 

Niall Morgan (Edendork, Tyrone)

Chris Barrett (Belmullet, Mayo)

Gary Brennan (Clondegad, Clare)

Eoin Cadogan (Douglas, Cork)

Killian Clarke (Shercock, Cavan)

Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers, Kerry)

Kevin Feely (Athy, Kildare)

Paul Geaney (Dingle, Kerry)

Pearce Hanley (Gold Coast/Ballaghadereen, Mayo)

Brendan Harrison (Aghamore, Mayo)

Conor Mc Manus (Clontibret, Monaghan)

Michael Murphy (Glenswilly, Donegal)

Niall Murphy (Coolera/Strandhill, Sligo)

Paul Murphy (Rathmore, Kerry)

Karl O'Connell (Tyholland, Monaghan)

Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy, Mayo)

Niall Sludden (Dromore, Tyrone)

Enda Smith (Boyle, Roscommon)

Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen, Tipperary)

Zach Tuohy (Geelong/Portlaoise, Laois)

Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne, Galway)


Stand By Players

Mattie Donnelly (Trillick, Tyrone)

Niall Grimley (Madden Raparees, Armagh)

Connaire Harrison (Glasdrumman, Down)

Caolan Mooney (Rostrevor, Down)

Sean Murphy (Fenagh, Carlow)

Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly, Carlow)

Sean Powter (Douglas, Cork)

The Australian squad for the series has already been named, with Geelong coach Chris Scott taking the reigns. Some big names in the squad include Gary Ablett Jnr., Patrick Dangerfield, Scott Panlebury, Joe Selwood.

It's the 20th edition of the International Rules, and marks a return to a two test series, after the one-offs of 2014 and 2015.



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com