• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • It Turns Out The Footballer All-Stars Were Picked A Good While Ago

It Turns Out The Footballer All-Stars Were Picked A Good While Ago

Conor Neville
By Conor Neville Updated

The Sunday Game panellists picked their team of the year on the night of the All-Ireland football final. The men behind the All-Star selections liked that team and saw no reason to change it tonight.

Elsewhere, Philly McMahon was pipped in the Footballer of the Year stakes by his less controversial colleague Jack McCaffrey and the young Footballer of the Year award went to an O'Connor from Mayo for the third time in five years.

The Hurler of the Year award went to TJ Reid and Tadhg de Burca picked  up the Young Hurler of the Year award.  The hurling all-stars were announced yesterday.


Brendan Kealy

Right corner back


Shane Enright

Full back


Rory O'Carroll

Left corner back


Philly McMahon

Right half back


Lee Keegan

Centre half back


Cian O'Sullivan

Left half back


Jack McCaffrey


Brian Fenton

Anthony Maher

Right half forward

Mattie Donnelly

Centre half forward

Ciaran Kilkenny

Left half forward

Donnchadh Walsh

Right corner forward

Conor McManus

Full forward

Aidan O'Shea

Left corner forward

Bernard Brogan

Footballer of the Year

Jack McCaffrey

Young footballer of the Year

Diarmuid O'Connor

Hurler of the Year

TJ Reid

Young Hurler of the Year

Tadhg De Burca

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com