• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Kingston In Cork Team For All-Ireland Hurling Final, Limerick Unchanged

Kingston In Cork Team For All-Ireland Hurling Final, Limerick Unchanged

Kingston In Cork Team For All-Ireland Hurling Final, Limerick Unchanged
By Eoin Harrington Updated
Share this article

Cork have announced their team for the All-Ireland hurling final against Limerick - and the big news is that Shane Kingston is in in the full forward line.

Cadogan and Kingston in Cork team for All-Ireland final

Shane Kingston will have known for a while now what his fate was to be on All-Ireland final day, given head coach Kieran Kingston is his father. After a man-of-the-match display against Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final, Kingston Sr has opted to start the Douglas man in the full forward line.

Shane Kingston of Cork during the All-Ireland hurling semi-final between Kilkenny and Cork. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

As expected, Ger Millerick misses out on a place in the team due to a hamstring injury. Sadly for the Fr O'Neill's half-back, he's not even fit enough to make the bench.

The questions as to who will replace Millerick have now been answered, with the experienced Eoin Cadogan coming in at 7.


34-year-old Cadogan is seeking to add an All-Ireland hurling title to the football crown he won with Cork in 2010.


Cork team for the 2021 All-Ireland hurling final

  1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
  2. Niall O'Leary (Castlelyons)
  3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
  4. Sean O'Donoghue (Iniscarra)
  5. Tim O'Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
  6. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
  7. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
  8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
  9. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
  10. Conor Cahalane (St. Finbarrs)
  11. Seamus Harnedy (St. Itas)
  12. Robbie O'Flynn (Erins Own)
  13. Jack O'Connor (Sarsfields)
  14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
  15. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

Cork are aiming to take the county's first All-Ireland triumph since that 2010 football final and, if they can finally vanquish Limerick, it will be the first time Liam McCarthy has travelled Leeside for 16 years.

Limerick named an unchanged team for the final, with Peter Casey starting at corner forward after having his red card in the semi-final against Waterford overturned.

Limerick team for the 2021 All-Ireland hurling final

  1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)
  2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
  3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
  4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
  6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
  7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
  8. William O'Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
  9. Darragh O'Donovan (Doon)
  10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks)
  11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
  12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
  13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
  14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
  15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

The biggest occasion in the hurling calendar gets underway at 3:30pm on Sunday, with the final set to be broadcast live on RTÉ 2 (coverage starting at 2pm) and Sky Sports Arena (coverage starting at 2:30pm).


SEE ALSO: 'Cork Are Afraid Of No-One. If They're In A Final, They'll Always Have A Chance.'

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com