• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Limerick Rule PwC Hurling All-Stars With Record-Breaking Haul

Limerick Rule PwC Hurling All-Stars With Record-Breaking Haul

Limerick Rule PwC Hurling All-Stars With Record-Breaking Haul
By PJ Browne
Share this article

All-Ireland champions Limerick dominate this year's PwC hurling All-Stars with a record-breaking haul of 12 award winners.

It is the first time in the 50-year history of the awards that a county has reached double figures in the final team.

Last year, Limerick secured nine All-Stars, a tally that saw them equal the feat achieved by the Kilkenny hurling teams of 1983, 2000 and 2008 and the Kerry football teams of 1981 and Dublin in 1977 and 2020.

Surprisingly, despite them reaching this year's All-Ireland final, there is no award for a Cork player. It is the first time that the beaten All-Ireland finalists have not received won an All-Star.

Along with Limerick's 12 players, the team features Kilkenny's Eoin Murphy as goalkeeper, Waterford's Conor Prunty in the fullback line, and Clare's Tony Kelly in the forwards. It is a third award each for Murphy and Kelly.

For Limerick, Barry Nash, Will O'Donoghue, Darragh O'Donovan, Seamus Flanagan and Peter Casey are all first-time winners while defender Seán Finn wins his fourth All-Star.

PwC All-Stars Hurling 2021

(Previous winning years in brackets)



1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore, Kilkenny) (2016, ’18)



2. Seán Finn (Bruff, Limerick) (2018, ’19, ’20)

3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside, Waterford)

4. Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick)


5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2020)

6. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick) (2018)

7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Limerick) (2020)



8. Will O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)



10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick) (2020)

11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2018, 2020)


12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick) (2020)

13. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare) (2013, ’20)

14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Limerick)

15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

See Also: 15 For 50 - The All-Star Hurling Team Of The Last 50 Years, As Chosen By The Experts

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com