• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Galway Lead The Way In Minor Football Team Of The Year

Galway Lead The Way In Minor Football Team Of The Year

Galway Lead The Way In Minor Football Team Of The Year
Colman Stanley
By Colman Stanley
Share this article

The Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Team of the Year has been named, with All-Ireland Minor Champions Galway leading the way with six players in the team.

Spidal defender Tomás Farthing, who won the man of the match award in both the All-Ireland semi-final and final, was chosen as the Minor Player of the Year.

Mayo, whom Galway defeated in the final, have four members on the team. Derry have two, while Tyrone, Kerry, and Dublin have one representative each.

"I am delighted to, once again, have the opportunity to extend my congratulations to the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Team of the Year, with a special mention for Tomás Farthing, the well-deserved recipient of the Minor Football Player of the Year," said GAA President Liam McCarthy at the announcement.

"Fans turned out in large numbers to support our minor players this season and we were fortunate to see the skills of these outstanding players. I look forward to watching the next chapter of their playing careers."

Minor Player Of The Year Tomás Farthing

12 June 2022; Minor Footballer of the Year; Tomás Farthing of Galway during the Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final match between Dublin and Galway at O'Connor Park in Tullamore, Offaly. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

SEE ALSO: Remarkable Solo Goal The Difference As Ferns Win First Ever Wexford Title

SEE ALSO: Tomás Ó Sé Thinks Kerry Benefitted Unfairly From Contentious Rule In All-Ireland Win

Minor Football Team of the Year


1. Kyle Gilmore (Galway)

2. Tomás Farthing (Galway)

3. Ben Hughes (Tyrone)


4. Rio Mortimer (Mayo)

5. Paul Gilmore (Mayo)

6. Cillian Trayers (Galway)


7. Fionn Murphy (Kerry)

8. Ruairí Forbes (Derry)

9. Jack Lonergan (Galway)


10. Johnny McGuckian (Derry)

11. Éanna Monaghan (Galway)

12. Diarmuid Duffy (Mayo)


13. Joe Quigley (Dublin)

14. Ronan Clarke (Mayo)

15. Colm Costello (Galway)

SEE ALSO: 'Stampede' For David Clifford In Castlegregory Captures Beauty Of The Split Season

David Clifford mobbed by young fans



Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com