• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The Nominees For The Footballer Of The Year Have Been Announced

The Nominees For The Footballer Of The Year Have Been Announced

The Nominees For The Footballer Of The Year Have Been Announced
Gavin Cooney
By Gavin Cooney
Share this article

Dublin and Mayo's dominance of Championship 2017 has been recognised in the nominees for All-Stars and Footballer of the Year, which have been released today. Each have two nominees for Footballer of the Year: Stephen Cluxton and James McCarthy from Dublin, while Andy Moran and David Clarke of Mayo have earned the nod. It is rare to have four nominees, but such a decision has been made "so as not to prejudice what the final selection may be".

Elsewhere, Con O'Callaghan is the red-hot favourite to be named Young Player of the Year: he is nominated alongside Cork's Sean Powter and Galway's Michael Daly.

Both of these awards will be decided by a vote among intercounty players.

Dublin have received 13 All-Star nominations, one more than Mayo. Tyrone have six while Kerry have five. Roscommon, Kildare and Down each have two with Monaghan, Donegal and Armagh completing the line-up with one player each.

Here's the list in full:



Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), David Clarke (Mayo), Niall Morgan (Tyrone)


Jack McCaffrey, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Fitzsimons, Philip McMahon, John Small, Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Colm Boyle, Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Pádraig Hampsey, Tiernan McCann (Tyrone), Paul Murphy, Tadhg Morley (Kerry), Conor Devanney (Roscommon), Caolan Mooney (Down), Fintan Kelly (Monaghan).

James McCarthy, Brian Fenton (Dublin), Tom Parsons (Mayo), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone), Enda Smith (Roscommon), Kevin Feely (Kildare).

Andy Moran, Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O’Shea, Jason Doherty, Cillian O’Connor (Mayo), Ciarán Kilkenny, Con O’Callaghan, Paul Mannion, Dean Rock (Dublin), Paul Geaney, Kieran Donaghy, James O’Donoghue (Kerry), Peter Harte, Niall Sludden (Tyrone), Connaire Harrison (Down), Patrick McBrearty (Donegal), Jamie Clarke (Armagh), Daniel Flynn (Kildare).


The winners will be announced at the Convention Centre on Friday, November 3. It's live on RTE 2.

See Also: The Football Team Of The Year Outside Of The Finalists




Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com