No Room For Cluxton As PwC All-Stars Throw Up Plenty Of Surprises

No Room For Cluxton As PwC All-Stars Throw Up Plenty Of Surprises

After Dublin laid claim to their fourth successive All-Ireland this year, Jim Gavin's players make up seven of the PwC All-Stars for 2018 in gaelic football.

With long-standing speculation surrounding who would fill the goalkeeper's position, however, Dublin may well be displeased with the committee's eventual selection; Monaghan's Rory Beggan receiving the honour instead.

One of six new players to win an All-Star award, Beggan is joined by the expected likes of David Clifford and Brian Howard as first-time winners.

Similarly, Padraig Hampsey and Karl O'Connell have been credited for their roles in two good years for Tyrone and Monaghan respectively.

A little more surprising perhaps is the sole selection from a Galway side that made it all the way to an All-Ireland semi-final; Ian Burke taking his place in a full-forward line alongside Clifford and Conor McManus.

With plenty of unexpected positional choices to mull over also, Tyrone's Colm Cavanagh ended up in a full-back role, flanked by Hampsey and Dublin's Johnny Cooper.

Compared to those six first-time winners, the 2018 PwC All-Stars will bring the likes of McManus, James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny to a total of three All-Stars a piece.


An important amendment to this year's All-Stars came by way of who the winners could be. With the committee made up of Gaelic games correspondents, this was the first time the selectors were not restricted to selecting players for the final team in the positions they had been nominated in.

A selection that is bound to cause some consternation (it was always going to), you can view the full list of this year's PwC All-Stars below.

2018 PwC All-Stars - Gaelic Football

1 - Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

2 - Johnny Cooper (Dublin)

3 - Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)


4 - Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

5 - Karl O'Connell (Monaghan)

6 - James McCarthy (Dublin)

7 - Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

8 - Brian Fenton (Dublin)

9 - Brian Howard (Dublin)


10 - Paul Mannion (Dublin)

11 - Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

12 - Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

13 - David Clifford (Kerry)

14 - Conor McManus (Monaghan)

15 - Ian Burke (Galway)

See Also: Wicklow County Board Issue Statement After Farcical Fixture Fiasco

Arthur James O'Dea

You may also like

Eir Sport To Broadcast 15 National League Games Over Seven Weekends
Quiz: Name The 33 Senior County Football Champions Of 2019
Rank The Jerseys Of The 33 Senior County Football Champions