• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • Sligo Captain Makes Epic Victory Speech After Historic Connacht U20 Title

Sligo Captain Makes Epic Victory Speech After Historic Connacht U20 Title

Sligo Captain Makes Epic Victory Speech After Historic Connacht U20 Title
By Colman Stanley Updated
Share this article

Sligo have beaten Galway by 0-14 to 0-13 to claim the Connacht U20 title.

Substitute Dillon Walsh scored the winning point, fisting over deep into stoppage, to give Sligo back-to-back titles, at Tuam Stadium. It also meant that this was the first time Sligo has ever retained the Connacht title at any age group.

Captain Canice Mulligan stepped up into the stands after the win and followed with, what feels now like a popular Irish trend, a brilliant victory speech complete with a nice, clear F-word for good measure.

En route to the trophy, Sligo have beaten all the 'big dogs' with wins over Roscommon, Mayo, and now Galway.

We'd a tough road to the final. Three away games, all the big dogs. But Sligo are now a fucking big dog so it doesn't matter.

Sorry apologies.

A Memorable Victory Speech From Sligo Captain Canice Mulligan

19 April 2023; Sligo manager Paul Henry celebrates with the Sligo team after the EirGrid Connacht GAA Football U20 Championship Final match between Galway and Sligo at Tuam Stadium in Galway. Photo by Ray Ryan/Sportsfile

READ HERE: GAA Report: Two High-Profile GAA Referees Fail Fitness Tests; Will Miss Championship


The teams and scorers from the game were taken from RTE.ie:


Sligo: Ethan Carden; Ross Chambers, Conor Johnston, Luke Casserly; Dylan Walsh (0-01), Dylan McLoughlin, Rossa Sloyan; Conor Sheridan, Canice Mulligan; Mark McDaniel, Ronan Niland, Ross Doherty; Luke Marren (0-07, 0-04f), Daire O’Boyle (0-02), Matt Henry (0-01).

Subs: Joshua Flynn (0-02) for Henry (23), Dillon Walsh (0-01) for McDaniel (41), James Kiernan for Doherty (47), Brian Byrne for Niland (60).

Galway: James Egan; Luc O’Connor, Éanna Donohue, Colm MacDonncha; Bernard Coen, Brian Cogger, Jack Folan; Patrick Egan, Sam O’Neill; Matthew Thompson (0-01), Cillian Ó Curraoin (0-06, 0-04f, 0-01 ’45), Fergal Ó Sé; Charlie Power (0-01), Seán Birmingham (0-01m), Jake Slattery (0-03).


Subs: Michael Moughan for Coen (45), Jack Lonergan for Folan (47), Maidhc Mac Gearailt (0-01) for Ó Se (49), Daithi Kilcommins for Thompson (60).

Referee: Liam Devenney (Mayo).

SEE ALSO: GAA : 'Australia Was Always On My Mind. I Was Actually Born In Sydney'

Picture credits: Sportsfile / Shutterstock.com

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com