• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The Sunday Game Have Selected Their Hurling Team Of The Year

The Sunday Game Have Selected Their Hurling Team Of The Year

The Sunday Game Have Selected Their Hurling Team Of The Year
By Gary Connaughton Updated

After a cracking year of hurling, hopes were high that today's final between Kilkenny and Tipperary would cap off the season in dramatic fashion. Unfortunately, the game would turn into something of a one sided contest.

None of that will matter to Tipperary however, who have claimed the Liam McCarthy for the first since 2016.

Over the year as a whole, you can have few arguments about the eventual champions. A Munster final no-show aside, they were consistently the best team in the country.

Considering this, it is unsurprising that they dominate the Sunday Game team of the year, which has been announced tonight.

The Sunday Game's extended punditry panel were given the responsibility of selecting the team and it was certainly no easy task.

There are six representatives from the All-Ireland champions, four from Kilkenny, two each from Limerick and Wexford, and a sole player from Cork.

Having been named man-of-the-match for the final, Noel McGrath is amongst those included.


The panel also named Adrian Mullen as young hurler of the year, and Seamus Callanan as hurler of the year.

The Sunday Game Team Of The Year

1.Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Sean Finn (Limerick)


3. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

4. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

5. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)


6. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

7. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)


9. Diarmuid O'Keefe (Wexford)

10. Lee Chin (Wexford)

11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)


12. Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny)

13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

SEE ALSO: What Séamus Callanan Achieved This Year May Never Be Topped

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com