• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The Footballer, Young Footballer And Team Of The Year So Far

The Footballer, Young Footballer And Team Of The Year So Far

The Footballer, Young Footballer And Team Of The Year So Far
Niall McIntyre
By Niall McIntyre Updated
Share this article

A lot of football played. A lot more to play.

The All-Ireland finals and semi-finals generally determine the end-of-season awards.

Rightly or wrongly, the early stages of the season are often forgotten about when it comes to the All-Star shake-up.

Well we're giving you our pre-All-Ireland quarter final team of the year right here as a reference point.

We took a look back at the provincials, the group stages and the preliminary quarter finals in picking our best fifteen.

Léigh an scéal seo trí Ghaeilge ar Liathróidí.ie brúigh anseo.

1 Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Has signed out of the championship and will more than likely be surpassed by the end of the year. But he has been amazing. Made arguably the save of the season from the rampant Diarmuid Murtagh last weekend.


2 Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)

0-10 in five championship games so far. O'Sullivan's returns as a corner back never fail to amaze but he's also stuck to his defensive task.

3 Liam Silke (Galway)

Slightly out of position here admittedly. Silke reads the game very well and has been brilliant all year.

4 Johnny McGrath (Galway)

A tigerish defender. Galway's go-to man-marker and he has fared well against top forwards like Shane McGuigan and Ryan O'Donoghue this year.


5 Peadar Mogan (Donegal)

An attacking wing back who has excelled this year, with 0-8 in six championship games.

6 John Small (Dublin)

It's hard to credit the fact that Small has only won one All-Star in his career (2020) but he's been at his best this year. Won man-of-the-match against Roscommon keeping Enda Smith out of the game and was similarly impressive against Mayo.

7 Craig Lennon (Louth)


4-6 from play from wing back. Lee Keegan compared him to Colm Boyle. Eamon Fitzmaurice compared him to Lee Keegan. The 23-year-old is electric, and has played a key part in Louth's historic march to the last eight. Paddy Keenan is Louth's only ever All-Star winner but the St Mochta's club-man will go close to joining him in the history books.


SEE ALSO: Down Player 'Spends Night In Hospital' As New Angle Emerges Of 'Definite' Red Card

SEE ALSO: "A Young Lee Keegan" - Louth's Flying Wing Back Acclaimed After Another Barnstorming Display

8 Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Quieter than usual against Mayo but simply outstanding up to that point.

9 Jason McGee (Donegal)

A man-mountain in midfield and so effective under Shaun Patton's kick-outs. Donegal will be hoping the hamstring injury he picked up against Cork heals up quickly because he's been a key man so far.

10 Daire Cregg (Roscommon)

A rolls royce of a forward who has been a huge find for the Rossies this year, kicking 0-16 so far.


11 Aidan O'Shea (Mayo)

Will be surpassed by the end of the season but his performances against Dublin and Derry showed he's still one of the most influential players in the game.

Aidan O'Shea Mayo v Cork

12 Rian O'Neill (Armagh)

Has been a key man in Armagh's revival since their Ulster final loss, winning man-of-the-match against Derry before kicking 0-3 from play against Galway.

13 Cormac Costello (Dublin)

Has come into red-hot form at the right time, hitting 2-12 (1-5 from play) in his last two games against Mayo and Cavan.


14 Sam Mulroy (Louth)

His tally of 3-37 in the championship sees him edge out Conor Turbitt of Armagh, but only just.

15 Diarmuid Murtagh (Roscommon)

A phenomenon so far. Murtagh has hit 1-22 in five championship games, with 1-13 coming from play. His left foot has been ticking like a clock.

Honourable mentions

Robert Finnerty, Dylan McHugh and John Maher are all unlucky to miss out from a Galway perspective as are Ciaran Kilkenny and Brian Howard from Dublin. Conor Turbitt is also unfortunate as is Brian Stack.


Footballer of the Year: Diarmuid Murtagh (Roscommon)

Shoutout to Fenton, John Small and Craig Lennon but the swashbuckling Rossie shades it at the minute.

Young footballer of the Year: Lachlan Murray (Derry)

Showcased his incredible talent on Saturday evening with 0-5 against Mayo. Also impressed with 0-3 against Galway when the team were struggling. A beast of a man for 21.




Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com