• Home
  • /
  • GAA
  • /
  • The Sunday Game Footballer And Team Of The Year Have Been Named

The Sunday Game Footballer And Team Of The Year Have Been Named

The Sunday Game Footballer And Team Of The Year Have Been Named
By PJ Browne
Share this article

On RTÉ's late evening coverage of the All-Ireland final replay between Dublin and Mayo, their panel - Colm O'Rourke, Pat Spillane, Martin Carney, Joe Brolly, Tomás Ó Sé, Dessie Dolan and Ciaran Whelan - selected their Team of the Year for 2016. They also selected their Footballer of the Year.

Dublin midfielder Brian Fenton was named The Sunday Game Footballer of the Year.

Voting for the award was by live vote. Here's the breakdown:

Colm O'Rourke: Dean Rock
Martin Carney: Lee Keegan
Pat Spillane: Brian Fenton
Ciaran Whelan: Brian Fenton
Dessie Dolan: Brian Fenton
Tomás Ó Sé: Brian Fenton
Joe Brolly: Lee Keegan

The Sunday Game Team of the Year features seven from All-Ireland champions Dublin, five from losing finalists Mayo, one each from semi-finalists Kerry and Tipperary and one from Ulster champions and All-Ireland quarter-finalists Tyrone.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
3. Johnny Cooper (Dublin)
4. Philly McMahon (Dublin)


5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
6. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
7. Patrick Durcan (Mayo)

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)


13. Paul Geaney (Kerry)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)
15. Dean Rock (Dublin)

Two omissions which immediately jump out are Tyrone's Peter Harte and Donegal's Ryan McHugh. Both had outstanding Championships.

See Also: Jim McGuinness And James Horan Have Very Different Views About Future Of This Mayo Team

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com