Revealed: The Best Wexford Team Of The Last 30 Years As Voted By You

Revealed: The Best Wexford Team Of The Last 30 Years As Voted By You

After a week of debate and a huge number of votes, the results are in. We can reveal our ninth 15 for 30 team - Wexford's best county hurling team of the last 30 years, as voted by the public.

Former Wexford captain Diarmuid Lyng joined us earlier in the week to make his selections, which you can listen to here, but in the end, it was your votes that counted.

Over the course of the week, votes came in for over 60 players, but of course, only 15 could be named.

Big votes for Martin Storey, Damien Fitzhenry, Tom Dempsey, Liam Dunne and Larry O'Gorman were no surprise, but it speaks to Wexford's recent revival as a hurling county that current stars Lee Chin and Conor McDonald both broke into the top 5 in the voting.

Rory McCarthy's flexibility sees him selected at half back, just one of the four lines in which he appeared for Wexford in his glittering career. The abundance of forwards selected also means that current star Rory O'Connor is this week's unlucky candidate. Almost every week in 15 for 30 series so far, a cornerback receives the 16th most votes, and a forward is sacrificed for the team to make sense. This week is no exception with O'Connor only pipping Keith Rossiter by three votes!

The biggest name not on the team is probably Wexford legend George O'Connor, with voters seemingly deciding that the two time All-Star midfielders best days lay outside of the timeframe at hand. O'Connor's final year in the yellow and purple came in their All-Ireland winning year of 1996.

The final team lines up as follows:



1. Damien Fitzhenry;

2. Liam Ryan, 3. Darragh Ryan, 4. Keith Rossiter;

5. Rory McCarthy, 6. Liam Dunne, 7. Larry O'Gorman;

8. Adrian Fenlon, 9. Diarmuid O'Keeffe;

10. Martin Storey, 11. Lee Chin, 12. Larry Murphy;


13. Tom Dempsey, 14. Conor McDonald, 15. Rory Jacob.

Unsurprisingly, the 1996 All-Ireland winning team makes up a good portion of the team, with eight of them making the final lineup. The 2004 Leinster winning team is also heavily represented with Rory Jacob, Darragh Ryan and Keith Rossiter joining the five players who had survived from eight years previous.

Davy Fitzgerald's current Leinster champions have also made an impression on the lineup with Liam Ryan and current All-Star Dee O'Keeffe joining Chin and McDonald final XV.


The Top 30 in order of votes received in all positions was as follows:

1. Martin Storey


2. Damien Fitzhenry

3. Lee Chin

4. Conor McDonald

5. Tom Dempsey

6. Liam Dunne

7. Larry O'Gorman


8. Rory Jacob

9. Darragh Ryan

10. Rory McCarthy

11. Diarmuid O'Keeffe

12. Adrian Fenlon

13. Liam Ryan


14. Larry Murphy

15. Rory O'Connor

16. Keith Rossiter

17. Paul Codd

18. Diarmuid Lyng

19. Colm Kehoe


20. George O'Connor

21. Sean Flood

22. Declan Ruth

23. Billy Byrne

24. Paul Morris

25. Matthew O'Hanlon


26. Ger Cushe

27. Liam Óg McGovern

28. Michael Jacob

29. Rod Guiney

T30. John O'Connor

T30. Mitch Jordan




The Best Kerry Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Clare Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Mayo Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Armagh Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Tipperary Team Of The Last 30 Years

The Best Meath Team Of The Last 30 Years


Michael McCarthy

You may also like