• Home
  • /
  • Golf
  • /
  • Cam Smith Pulls Out Of PGA Tour Event Day After Penalty Controversy

Cam Smith Pulls Out Of PGA Tour Event Day After Penalty Controversy

Cam Smith Pulls Out Of PGA Tour Event Day After Penalty Controversy
By Colman Stanley Updated

World no. 2 Cam Smith has pulled out of next week's BMW Championship, citing ongoing hip discomfort as the reason. The Aussie is currently third in the FedEx Cup standings, and thus it will not affect his chances of qualifying for the season ending Tour Championship next week.

The decision of Cam Smith comes a day after he was hit with a two stroke penalty before teeing off for his final round in the St. Jude's Championship.

Smith went into Sunday's round just two shots off the lead, but was in formed before teeing off that he had violated a rule the previous day, by playing a drop with the ball touching a red hazard line.

Cam Smith Controversy

SEE ALSO: LIV Golf Players Finally Find Tour Willing To Let Them Play

Advertisement

Smith has been widely reported to be joining the LIV Golf Tour after the Tour Championship, and Twitter was awash with conspiracy theories that the PGA Tour were punishing Smith because of this, particularly given that they only informed him on Sunday.

Chief referee Gary Young, explained the situation from his point of view:

"Because of the geometry of the situation he [Smith] was dealing with a really small area where he’s dropping it. It’s basically hole high and he’s basically got a slither outside of the line and he obviously dropped the ball in that area but it came back to rest against the line.

Advertisement

“It was at that point he obviously thought it was OK to play it from the position and it turns out the rules do not [allow it]. You have to take complete relief from that penalty area. He wasn’t aware that no portion of the ball could be touching the penalty area line. He thought that if a portion of the ball was in the general area of the course he was safe to play it.”

"Cam is a complete gentleman and he took it that way. He was completely calm through the whole process and once he found out it was a two-stroke penalty, he said to me, ‘the rules are the rules’. In typical, casual Cam fashion, he just accepted it and left the office that way.”

SEE ALSO: Leona Maguire And Tom Mckinnin Finish Strongly In Handa Invitational

Advertisement

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Sponsored by Arachas

Golf coverage on Balls.ie is in partnership with Arachas, Ireland's largest nationwide insurance broker. Over 50 years of experience in the Irish market.

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com

Advertisement